We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat and enjoy some history”
Review of Firehouse Grill

Firehouse Grill
Ranked #35 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A good place to eat and enjoy some history”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The Firehouse Grill offers good service and a good menu. It also offers a good selection of sushi which I have not yet tried and it has a very good view of down town. The one problem is that I could not find handicapped access.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank YukonStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    71
    29
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We go to the Firehouse Grill every few weeks, and have the Chef's choice which always a surprise! Food is always fresh and seasonal. It can quite noisy so book reservations and if you are lucky get a booth which is quieter, Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the different food items.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
“good sushi!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

came here with friends after a golf game, on a week night. had been here once before, a long time ago, for lunch, don't recall being enamored by it. it was busy and noisy, possibly due to the lovely warm, sunny spring day, which added a good feel to it. as described by the name, it's in an old firehall, thus the tall ceilings which can make the noise level a tad high. our beer was served very quickly, Granville island on tap, while we checked out the menu. we decided on sushi and were very happy with our choices. we asked what the most popular dishes were and ordered all 3 of them, all quite unique to our area. i added California roll and veggie tempura. the server was attentive and came by to reassure us that our food would be out soon. the food came altogether on a plate, attractively served. very good. we then shared a dessert plate, small servings of 3 choices, good! quite happy with our evening and I'd recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Food and service were excellent; however it is difficult to carry on a quiet conversation due to the acoustical properties of the building. (love that you can order 1/2 servings)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brent R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable evening.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Everything was good but found it a little noisy for talking. Food was plentiful and very attractive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Firehouse Grill also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Firehouse Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing