We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but slightly disappointed”

Blue Ginger Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ok, but slightly disappointed”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stopped in to use one of the coupons from our Entertainment Book ("Enjoy a complimentary lunch entrée with the purchase of another entrée of greater or equal value." It turns out that it's only good to a maximum of $5. There are only a couple of sushi dishes that are $5 or less; most of the menu items are an average of $10 or $14.

The waitress was pleasant and apologized for the miscommunication. The food was ok, but had too much sauce on the Lettuce Cup with chicken.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CdnShaunaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    34
    16
    18
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another great meal!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went to Blue Ginger again this evening - once again a great experience! Have been there since our first time in December MANY times. Eric is always there giving suggestions to have and try new things.

Love the menu and choices because if you don't want sushi you can choose something else.

Can't wait or the next visit it try something new:)


Raylene & Kevin

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raylene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We don't eat there anymore”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

At one time I thought it was the best restaurant in Nanaimo. But we've stopped going there for many reasons such as: a far too cocky and over-confident bartender had the audacity to tell us a "pint" was 16 ounces, poor service as documented by my fellow Canadians on this website, over-priced drinks and wines and intermittent good-bad food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 380JohnA380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This place needs a real management/owners who knew what they are doing !!”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Lunchtime at 11:30am - restaurant had 3 tables only ! -only 1 waitress who was a complete mess - understandably- and 20 minutes of sitting twiddling my thumbs waiting to order !
The restaurant was dead ! I have been coming to this Restaurant now for 5 years and the service has always SUCKED ! Call me crazy for keep coming back but the food is usually good beside the god awful service ! THIS PLACE needs CHEF RAMSEY !
A real mess ! !!!!!!!! The miso was stone cold and the agadasi Tofu had no taste at all ... Who are the owners and why don't they seem to not give a care ?? Contact me please !!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcarny77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Interesting menu!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

It is said that the sushi at Blue Ginger is comparable to the sushi at Nori' but I can't comment on that as we did not have sushi. But the restaurant has an eclectic menu including some Indonesian dishes which warmed the cockles of my Dutch roots. It has a nice, quiet location with some great views.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank YukonStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Blue Ginger Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing