We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”
Review of Crow & Gate Pub

Crow & Gate Pub
Ranked #5 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We have been there many times. Cosy and friendly in the winter, very attractive in the summer. Great - all seasons. A must visit. It's a pub - go to the counter and place your order.. Open a tab or pay when you order - staff is friendly and will bring your order with a smile. I always order crab cakes, but get there early - they sell out quickly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank addysett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    248
    61
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

An english pub, right in our neigborhood. My family from GB was very impressed; it would be very difficult to find a place like that in todays England.
The pub has interesting history, beautiful gardens and a real fireplace going on cold days.
During summer time there is very attractive farmers market on the adjacent grounds.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lidia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English Pub”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Crow and Gate is my all time favourite pub! We have been going there for many years now, and still love it. Done in the style of an "Old English Pub" with roaring fires in the winter, and big wooden beams it is very comfortable, and according to my "old English" in-laws, very authentic. It is "bar service", meaning you go to the bar to order your drinks, but that's all part of the experience. The staff there are great, and work hard to make it a unique place to go.
The food at the Crow and Gate is not what most people think of as bar food-no French fries or chicken wings here-I don't think there is a deep fryer in the place. The dinner specials are great, and the roast beef is very popular, but we normally have the traditional pub plates, with assorted salads, cheese, pickles, etc... and things such at Bratwurst, Scotch egg, steak pie, or Melbray Pork pies. The desserts are pretty incredible too-my personal favourite is the bread pudding with brandy sauce.
They have a good selection of imported draft beers, such as Kilkenny, and they have cider on tap also.
During the summer, it is great to sit outside and enjoy the country views and sunshine in their patio area.
It's a bit of a drive from town, but definitely worth the effort.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NanaimoManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Fried Oysters in Nanaimo”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great atmosphere, pleasant bucolic surroundings, excellent beer selection, and the best fried oysters in Nanaimo. A little out of the way but worth the extra effort to get there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dash34td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“english style pub????”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

here lies the problem ..they don't serve anything deep fried as in french fries!!!or fish & chips ..(an english pubs basics)so what you get with everything you order is scoop of sloopy potato salad, a green salad with some kind of dressing and a very dry crusty bun with enough butter to butter half a bun.What has prompted me to write this review is i have to go there for lunch today with a family member who wants to buy us lunch.Even though i am not paying i don't want to go and am thinking about eating before i go and just have a beer which i think is the reason most people go there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow & Gate Pub also viewed

 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Crow & Gate Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing