We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crow & Gate Pub

Crow & Gate Pub
Ranked #4 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
238 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Partly because the weather was perfect, our visit for lunch here was a wonderful treat. The gardens are glorious - some lucky people were seated outdoors for their lunch. The intererior is "typical Olde England Pub" (I doubt there are any as quaint as this left in UK...), and the fare is honest pub food. The ambiance and the beauty of the gardens/grounds made this a highlight of our visits near Ladysmith on Vancouver Island.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank WarsawWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    236
    52
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've never had a bad meal here. The garden is fantastic, just sit out there and enjoy your meal or drink. The menu is simple, but delicious and the prices are reasonable. From $12 - $16 for lunch. They also have a Farmer's Market on Saturdays.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dancinggirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place near Nanaimo, B.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

If only all taverns could be this cool! We've been going to the Crow & Gate for at least eight years, whenever we visit the area. It has consistently been a highlight for us, whether it is raining and we stay inside, where the dark wood & comfortable seating feels like it is straight out of the UK countryside, or on warm late summer days when we can eat outside in their amazing and gorgeous gardens. A changing menu, featured on the blackboard near the bar where you order. This is a classic public house and not to be missed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PIFFKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua, Guatemala
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming English Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were visiting family in Nanaimo on Vancouver Island this September and were fortunate to experience this lovely establishment. A short drive out of town into a country setting takes you to a European oasis with manicured gardens and English flair. We felt immediately transported to Great Britain, duck pond and all. The casual pub atmosphere with its multitude of beers on tap, some from micro-breweries and picnic style seating in the gardens is magical. I enjoyed crab cakes and my friends, the steak and kidney pie. Portions were generous and delicious, ending with a sumptuous bread pudding. Not to be missed if you're in Nanaimo.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookingDiva57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Relax & Enjoy the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Makes a nice destination lunch in a classic car. Long ‘gravel’ driveway leads up to duck pond in front of the Old English style pub, we’re been there a few times (in our Classic car & with our car club) for lunch only, order at the bar, grab a drink and go sit outside on the picnic tables and enjoy the mountain views and garden smells in the warm sun. Would make an ideal place for a wedding. Food and service has always been excellent, crab cakes and meat pies very yummy, sandwich’s are HUGE. Definitely will be back next summer..

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whitesands13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crow & Gate Pub also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Crow & Gate Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing