We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Nanaimo

The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Nanaimo
Ranked #95 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I've only eaten at the keg 2 times over the years and both times I was very unimpressed. Their steaks are bland and I can't say much for the rest of the food. Save your money and spend it on quality ingredients like local grass fed beef. Then you will have a real meal. I won't be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    38
    30
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

my husband and I go to the Keg Steakhouse in Nanaimo often. The atmosphere is fun and relaxing. The food is generally good, hit and miss sometimes. It is a good place to go and the staff try to meet your needs. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank henderson8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Have not had great experiences at two different kegs lately but had gift cards so off we went.Service was prompt and knowledgeable.The bread and brie appy were excellenThen the mains came.....wife had overcooked salmon and my chicken and ribs(usually get prime or steak but have not had good luck so i thought id change it up)was also over cooked.No grill marks on chicken so not sure how it was cooked.How do you ruin a chicken breast???Last chance for this chain for us.Kinda crazy i coulda gotten better at swiss chalet for half the money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mybabysdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A perfect meall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Returning to the keg after about 5years I ordered the sirloin steak with mushrooms, garlic mashed potatoes, oh so good, and veggies cooked to perfection, the caesar salad was large and very good as well. the steak was so tasty, perfectly cooked and seasoned there was not a speck left on my plate. I give my meal a 10 plus, and can not wait to return and do it again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcgrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place for steaks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We always enjoy the Keg. Not sure why other people have had bad experiences. We never have. Most recently, we went on a Saturday night around 6 (no reservation) and were seated right away. Both our classic steak choices, including the potatoes and veggies were smokin' hot and cooked to perfection. The salad portion was huge and I love their bread - I could have had more, but didn't want to ruin my appetite for the steak dinner. The wine we chose, a Malbec, was also one of the best we've had at a restaurant. Tell me where to find a better steak in Nanaimo than the Keg.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JoCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Nanaimo also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse + Bar - Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing