We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, cold and greasy”

Mrs Riches Dinner Club Cafe
Ranked #71 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Old, cold and greasy”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The place is dirty and smelly and our food was just terrible. Had their burger, appie platter and and a salad. Appy platter was cold and greasy, salad wilted and brown and right out of the bag fries. Burger was ok, but the size of the patty was tiny. Won't be back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    26
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Overall awesome experience!!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Every time I go to Mrs Riches the food, service, and atmosphere is great! I go quite often and I always leave satisfied and with a smile. I definatly recommend this place! It's one of the best!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne02123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Every time I go to Mrs. Riches I have had an awesome experience! The Maui ribs, wonton soups, and burgers are soooo delicious! (as you can tell I go often.. ) I definitely recommend this place!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We ate here at the reccomendation of family in Nanaimo because they were featured on the Food Network's You Gotta Eat Here. We figured it had to be great right? Boy we were mistaken.

I ordered the fish and chips, my fish was undercooked and had to send it back, it took them over 30 minutes to bring me out a new plate. The next plate wasn't any better because it was then over cooked and dry. My husband and nephew both had the beef dips and never in my life have I seen a beef dip with gray beef and with a mushy texture. There is a difference between tender beef and mushy grossness which this beef was.

I've eaten all over Vancouver Island from upscale restaurants to little holes in the walls and Mrs Riches is the worst place I've ever eaten.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sportyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“YUMMY burger, and fries fare(other items also)!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

I went with my family, and we were all shocked when we entered the restaurant of how 'totally cool" (my 3 yr old son at the time stated) it was decorated with old memorabilia of cars, the burger wall of fame (2 monstrous burgers no one has EVER finished with fries, if you eat that then you get it for free) The menu was resonable, food was yummy, juicy, and flavorful. Service was great too! It is too bad I eat gluten free now, but I would definitely bring my family back again soon!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Coastlover85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs Riches Dinner Club Cafe also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Mrs Riches Dinner Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing