We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and mediocre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Longwood Brew Pub & Restaurant

Longwood Brew Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Canadian, Brew Pub, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fresh and local West Coast cuisine combined with in-house handcrafted Ales and Lagers, all served up in a warm and friendly atmosphere.Longwood Brew Pub is central Vancouver Island's first Brew Pub and Nanaimo's favorite rendezvous destination. Our restaurant, pub and brewery stand proud as the "jewel in the crown" of Longwood Station. Located conveniently on the Island Highway amongst beautiful landscaping and natural West coast wilderness, we are easily accessible from all parts of Nanaimo, as well as ferry terminals and all points north & south on Vancouver Island.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overpriced and mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Suprised to pay just shy of 55 bucks before tip for breakfast buffet.. the food was mediocre I for sure would have enjoyed a mcdonalds or tim hortons breakfast even before factoring the price probably wont go again

Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    176
    63
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great local restaurant - well-decorated, good food, and good service. We had a late lunch here and really enjoyed the meal in a relaxed, comfortable environment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ORSUZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A good meal with a good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were heading to a movie and stopped at the Longwood for supper. My spouse had their seafood chowder - which was excellent - and a mussels appetizer, also excellent. I had a great dark beer, brewed on premises and fish and chips [cod]. I thought I was hungry, so ordered the 2 pieces. Wow, it was enough to share. The fish was very good and the chips were hot and crisp. Our server was very friendly and most attentive. We will go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MusikAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta!
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of the better brew pubs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had lunch here the other day. Decent pub atmosphere, nice selection of beer and excellent food. Often you get good beer with mediocre food, or vise versa. Longwood does both really well. Their in-house beers were varied, I think they had something for everyone. The server knew the product well, and was helpful in offering a couple of tasters to make sure we got something we liked. Had BLTC burger - good size, and flavourful, added onion rings which were some of the tastiest rings I've ever had - crispy, no grease. Partner had the Noodle bowl and thoroughly enjoyed it. All in all perfect lunch after a day of shopping, we'll return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mickeeAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Worth another visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Our visit was for lunch on a rainy weekday. The restaurant was quiet and a few more diners would have added to the atmosphere. Classy décor enhanced the pub-like ambience and the service was fast and friendly. Since we all had fish and chips I can't comment on the rest of the
menu, except to say that there was plenty of choice. The fish and chips were above average with
nice flaky fish and a batter that wasn't overly greasy. The beer choices were the best part of the meal with several varieties of craft beers to choose from. We'll be back soon to try the pub downstairs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PEB40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Longwood Brew Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Longwood Brew Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing