We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, mediocre food.”

Lighthouse Bistro and Pub
Ranked #29 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Gastropub, Canadian, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lighthouse Bistro & Pub is the place to meet your friends and colleagues for some of the best food the West Coast has to offer. A variety of unique, fresh seafood dishes are served up at the Bistro, or treat yourself to great traditional fare in our Pub, including fish and chips, specials of the day, mouth watering burgers, grilled seafood, and calamari. Accompanying all our hugely satisfying menus is the finest selection of local craft beer, wine and spirits Vancouver Island has to offer. We support our local vendors such as Hoyne Brewing Company and Vancouver Island Brewery! You can find their products in both the Bistro and Pub! During the summer months you can get the freshest Dungeness Crab in town! Cooked to order and averaging about 1.5 Pounds per crab, this is the best deal in Nanaimo! Like us on Facebook to keep up to date with game times and special promotions. Ask your Server for details. Fantastic Happy Hour Specials starting soon!
canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great view, mediocre food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Dined in the restaurant side of the Lighthouse Bistro and Pub with my husband, brother and sister-in-law on August 3rd. Dined early so we had a table by the window with a gorgeous view (restaurant is on the water).

Several of us had the seafood chowder which was very salty. I mentioned this to the waitress who said that it was probably because of one of the types of seafood in the chowder. I have had numerous types of chowder in many restaurants and not found any others to be this salty.

Our main courses were also very salty. I don't generally add salt to food, so may be more sensitive to the taste, but my companions felt the same way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashalucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Sashalucky,

I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your food. You can be sure that your feedback has been passed on to the kitchen and measures are being taken to ensure the highest quality of product is received by our guests.

We hope you give us another try in the near future and we guarantee your next experience to be exceptional!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    101
    55
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We walked here from the Coast Bastion Hotel, and the food was very good, and the kids enjoyed the food and the views. We sat outside and watched float planes land, and boats coming in and out, all while dining on great food. Price was very reasonable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Mike S.,

We are glad to hear that you and your family had a great experience in our restaurant. One of the perks to our location is that Harbour Air has many flights every day and it is very cool to watch the harbor in motion.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great ocean side pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had lunch and a couple drinks at this pub. Great location on the nanaimo harbor. Watch the boats and sea planes come and go while enjoying great food. We sat outside at the BBQ, and the food was great. There is a different menu that looks worthwhile inside in the restaurant side. I'd recommend this to others.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick K, Manager at Lighthouse Bistro and Pub, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Hi Mike P,

Glad you enjoyed your visit on our BBQ Patio. There is no better place to be in the summer and our seasonal BBQ menu is unique and ever changing. The Bistro and Pub menus run all year long and have a wide array of options for your dining pleasure.

We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location - Good Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great lunch spot. Plenty of parking in the public lots right in front of the restaurant. There were six of us and the calamari appetizer was enough for all of us to share. Four of us had the halibut and loved it - the serving size was perfect, I actually couldn't finish it. It is a beautiful place to eat - just the sort of place I want to be when at the waterfront. Set up very nicely to enjoy the harbour with a nice meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank LA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best View in Town......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The balcony off the bar has a spectacular view of the water. Watched the seaplanes land and take off. We had drinks and appetizers on a sunny Sunday - last day of the Bathtub races. Visited with a local couple who shared that this was an unknown gem - many didn't realize the best view was right here!! A bit breezy but we really enjoyed our time there - the waitress was fun. Will stop in again whenever I'm in Nanaimo.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cooper1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Bistro and Pub also viewed

 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lighthouse Bistro and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing