We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty, saucy food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amrikko's By the Sea - CLOSED

Amrikko's By the Sea
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tasty, saucy food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Amrikko's recently with a large family group. I found the food was all around very good; tasty but not exceptional. The view from the restaurant is great but the interior is fairly old and dreary. Service was fine and we got lots of good food for the price.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lobbster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Awesome View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

This family does such a great job of making you feel right at home. The food is mmmmmmm good. My fav is the butter chicken and the nam bread.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just what I needed!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were visiting Nanaimo for a family emergency and after five days of ongoing stress, little food and little sleep I just needed some comfort food. I got my fix and FILL at Amrikko's!

We started with Paneer Pakora - slightly disappointed as i think rather than cheese it was actually tofu but it was still very good. We went on to Chicken Tikka Masala, Chicken Biryani, Chana Masala and Butter Chicken all HOT with garlic naan. The food was very good and very flavourful - we were disappointed with the butter chicken as it was a bit tomato soup-y but overall we did enjoy our meal.

The decor and atmosphere were nice. The service was also good and we all left completely stuffed with take home!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trish L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took a friend to eat at this restaurant, I am British and have extensive experience of Indian food. I LOVE it! But I was very disappointed with Amrikkos in Departure Bay. The Waiter did not seem inetrested in serving us. The food came out bland and without any sauce. I ate very little and took teh rest home to add some spice and other items to make it more enjoyable. The place had no atmosphere and did not make me want to return. A shame as their food in the Woodgrove foodmall is actually better than the restaurant. A make over of the restaurant and food would be great as it is a nice location.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank islandholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Indian Food in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

This has to be the best Indian restaurant I've ever been to. For the past 14 years, I've been going here and I always order the butter chicken, vegetables with not so hot spice & the garlic nan. They have never ceased to dissapoint! They also have a lovely cardimon/rice pudding & great Chai Tea.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tee W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amrikko's By the Sea also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing