We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!! Don't miss dining here...”
Review of Zougla Restaurant

Zougla Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
ann arbor, mi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!! Don't miss dining here...”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our first visit was for my father-in-laws 88th birthday on Sunday, December 1, 2013. The restaurant is lovely, cozy and immaculate. With our reservation, we requested a table in the corner of the room due to dad not being able to hear very well. Upon arrival, we were seated at a lovely table in the corner of the room and off to a great evening. The menu has many excellent offerings! We dined on fresh salads, excellent wine, superb filet, seafood and lovely desserts. Elena was our server and she made our dining experience over the top with her knowledge/expertise of the food and wine. While in her care, she made our experience perfect. We were delighted with our evening. Toward the end of the night, Elena informed that Frank is the owner and loves what he does. There is no doubt about it. This is one of the finest places we have discovered in Nanimo. We will visit every time we are in town. Thank you Zougla's for "doing it right"!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    40
    9
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scallops florentine”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I still talk about this dish. We were there in July lol. Simply delish. A very nice place to stop for a great meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saskgal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth the review”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

There are very few good restaurants on the island. Zougla is one of the best. We had their sampler platter and there was nothing on the plate that tasted mediocre. Service was excellent, restaurant was spotless. We drove here from mill bay...approximately 1 hour from our home, on the recommendation of a friend. It was well worth the visit and we are looking very forward to eating here many times more, in the near future.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank touringuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Thank you! Well Done!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Beautiful dinner! First date for a middle age pair! He had New York Steak which was melt in your mouth delish! She had the Mixed Seafood Grill so fresh and yummy! Wonderful Cheesecake to share for dessert! Thank you Zouglas!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kareninnyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If you are looking for a restaurant to bring guests to, or for just an all-round good meal experience, this is the place to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zougla Restaurant also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Zougla Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing