We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starving in Nanaimo” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acme Food Company - CLOSED

Acme Food Company
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Healthy, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We provide a West Coast inspired menu with an emphasis on seafood and healthy options, including gluten free and vegan. Oysters on the half shell. Vancouver Island Craft Beers.
Ladysmith, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Starving in Nanaimo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went to Acme on a Sunday. The food was scarce and the prices were high. A colleague ordered a 5-prawn appetizer for $12 and that is exactly what he got. 5 lonely prawns on a large plate. When he asked the waitress for the garlic toast that the menu said it came with she said no it didn't come with garlic toast. Then she checked the menu and sure enough it did. So two skimpy pieces of french bread showed up that looked like they didn't have any butter or anything on them, except grill marks.
For a meer $14 you can have six small pieces of sushi. The prawns would have looked good on a bed of rice with some garnish. Rice is cheap and so is Acme. The sliders had a teeny tiny patty in them 1/4" thick and overcooked and dry. The pretzel bun was dry and the who slider lacked taste. Where or where are the previous owners? I think these owners are car mechanics not restauranteurs. Pack it up boys and find another job.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank orca584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    48
    14
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lunch was great!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good service - good food!
I had the crab cakes with quinoa salad and my daughter had the ACMe salad but substituted feta for the blue cheese and added grilled chicken. We also tried the white sangria - yum!!! Everything tasted great!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Place Downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were very happy with the service, very friendly servers. Have been back again. My husband had the salmon tacos, and spinach salad, very delicous. Next time he had the chicken with the tequila lime sauce. I had the club sandwich with real chicken on sourdough bread, with a caesar salad. So the next time I ordered the salad again, with the salmon. Never had blackberries on brie, so good. Dessert we shared the gluetin free cheesecake.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Giraffes17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Right in the heart of downtown Nanaimo if you are looking for a great dining experience they do it..
Great choices on the menu..often have live entertainment too.

Helpful?
1 Thank AllensNanaimoBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I remember when this restaurant used to be the best and trendiest in town...it is barely average now it seems. Had dinner there recently and it was a relatively underwhelming experience -and one that does not prompt me to make an effort to go there again. For instance, ordered the rice bowl only to find out they had "run out of rice"! Pasta dishes were acceptable but nothing to sing about. The server was pleasant but the atmosphere/seating/view and overall experience has me rating this as just average. Food came quickly and was in good portions so that is something to note. This might be nicer as a lunch stop rather than a dinner date restaurant if you decide to try it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AJMAIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acme Food Company also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing