We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

i would echo the reviews posted by previous guests. My wife and I stayed in the sunset room for 2 nights during our recent visit to Vancouver Island and I could not have been more impressed. The breakfasts were excellent and Glen and Marilyn made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. The view across the Strait of Georgia is spectacular and yes, there is plenty of wildilfe in and around the property including eagles, deers and other birds. A must stsy if you are in the Nanaimo area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
110
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel Valley, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

MGM B&B was one of the most romantic places my husband and I have ever stayed. The view was AMAZING and the room was fresh, clean and nicely decorated. Because there were no other quests in the second downstairs bedroom, we had the floor to ourselves, which made it a bit more private. The other room was suitable for guests with children, which I thought was a nice alternative for families. Marilyn and Glenn were welcoming hosts without being intrusive and I thoroughly enjoyed spending the evening upstairs chatting and learning more about the Nanaimo area. Breakfast was delicious and they even accommodated our early departure. I can't wait to return again some day when I'm sure it will feel even more like a visit to old friends.

Room Tip: If you want to insure quietude and maximize privacy, I would inquire if the downstairs room that acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merideth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kispiox Valley, BC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

It seriously does not get better than MGM B&B! I do not really know where to start with this place. First I will begin with hosts. Marilyn and Glen are one of a kind. They are the most hospitable caring hosts you will ever meet. From the moment we arrived, we did not feel like a guest in their home, but old friends. The couple is truly amazing!
The rooms were also great. We had the two rooms on the middle floor (round room king and the other king room) I think we paid about 169.00 per room... and that included-beach front access and a beautiful walkway down to a lovely sitting area above the ocean, espresso, coffees, teas, juices (etc.), home-made nanaimo bars when we arrived!, a billiard table, hot tub on the beautiful deck outside the sliding glass doors from our room, big screen tv with satellite and movies, etc. etc. etc. I cannot continue to explain how perfect this place is and the people that come with it! We also saw bunnies and deer right in their yard (there are a lot!). The breakfast was divine! They made a delectable breakfast-all different for each of us! Truly amazing, with a lovely cappuccino!
Marilyn and Glen bring B&B expectations to a whole new level. If you are on the island (no matter where, i HIGHLY recommend their place!) Definitely check out their website! Amazing photos!

Room Tip: For sure the Honeymoon Room... AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowNsun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I had been planning a visit to the Vancouver area for a long time: our daughter was staying in Vancouver for one year. Finally my son and me decided to do the trip from Belgium and come to Canada. We saw the MGM Seashore B&B website before we arrived - but reality was more intense. We saw the elegant interior, the beautiful sunlight and sunsets, the wonderfully decorated breakfast plates. We smelled the delicous waffles, wild salmon and perfectly brewed coffee. We heard the ocean and the humming birds. The room was very spacious, the view from the deck was gorgious. We had a lounge, a hot tub, a TV, DVDs, a fridge etc at our disposal. This was great. But above all we were overwhelmed by the extremely warm welcome that Marilyn and Glenn gave the three of us - and by the caring support they gave our daughter when she was all by herself in Vancouver. I appreciate that very much. It is more than what I could have expected.
Denise Dictus , Belgium

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This B&B offers a spectacular view from all levels as it is perched above the seashore and looks across Georgia Strait to the mainland. You are able to see many of the islands near and far. We were impressed by Glenn and Marilyn's exceptional welcome and warm hospitality. The MGM provides a delicious breakfast; you are able to choose from a printed menu. The house is beautiful, spacious and comfortable. We would highly recommend this B&B for anyone staying in the Nanaimo area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VE7CKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were married on the deck overlooking the ocean surrounded by breathtaking scenery, nature, and the warm and wonderful Marilyn and Glenn.Our stay was more beautiful than we could have imagined. Marilyn & Glenn went out of their way to ensure the stay and our special day was perfect. It's all in the details: the fantastic breakfast to start the day, the tulips and the pansies, the chocolate dipped strawberries, the homemade Nanaimo bars, And, two deer joined us in the middle of our ceremony. Delightful!! The accomodations were excellent. We felt completely pampered. Thank you Marilyn & Glenn, for everything!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Marilyn & Glenn are wonderful B&b hosts! This was our second visit to there B&B and my wife and I have no reason to go anywhere else. The view is stunning and the accommodations are excellent! We love this B&B - can't say anymore than that:)

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carguy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.5 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,343 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
4.0 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
339 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast

Property: MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4950 Fillinger Cres | British Columbia, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 1H9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular oceanfront B&B in our modern executive home in north Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. All three rooms offer ocean view, decks with hot tub, a beach deck, with garden steps between. Included is an games/entertainment/sitting area, coffee/tea/cappuccino bar, fruit bowl and the famous Nanaimo Bar dessert, gourmet breakfasts, menu changes daily and caters to any dietary needs. Enjoy our smoke and pet free environment. We promise a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing