We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average B&B!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 34 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We decided to get away for a night and took the seaplane from downtown Vancouver to Nanaimo. I booked a night at MGM Seashore B&B. When I spoke to Marilyn to get directions she mentioned it would be around $40 in a taxi as they are located along the coast at Rocky Point but she offered to pick us up. This was a glimpse of the level of service we were to receive on our stay. As it turned out we hired a car from Budget for $30 for 24hrs which was very reasonable but even if a taxi is required it is well worth it.

The House: Built on the side of the hillside this multilevel house is deceptive from the roadside. It is only when viewing from the large decking area built down on the seashore rocks that you can see its a large house. The decor is modern but comfortable and when you walk in you are met with a floor to ceiling view of the Straight and mountains beyond - fantastic.

Our room featured a round bed, all mod cons and fanctastic views along with access to a large outdoor area complete with large hot tub and many small personal touches. The room formed part of an entertainment level with pool table, tv lounge area and mini bar complete with delicious home-made Nanaimo Bar and Shortbread.

The garden is also beautiful, private and the paths through the ferns invite you down to the private decking area at the water's edge - we enjoyed watching a fantastic sunset and also met a local deer and watched sealions hunting. Glenn informed us that guests have also encountered Orca within feet of the decking!

Hospitality: Glenn and Marilyn are the perfect hosts and made us feel comfortable and at home but also as if we were like visiting friends rather than paying customers. We chose from a tasty selection for breakfast the next morning. We both went for Glenn's special waffles topped with fresh fruit. They were delicious, as was the rest of the breakfast including homemade muesli, yoghurt, homemade breads, jams and juices - the best we have had PLUS Glen makes a great Capuccino, or whatever else you might want.

We had such a fantastic time here and are so happy to have discovered it - we can look forward to recommending it to family, friends and everyone else, not to mention return visits! This is the perfect base to explore the rest of the Island.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWMCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 186 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2010

My wife and I were taking a quick BC vacation and stopped in Nanaimo travelling between Vancouver and Victoria. We found the MGM online and the McKnight's had a vacancy. Our hosts did everything they could make us comfortable. They are seasoned B&B owners and were able to sense when we needed privacy, and when we would enjoy their company and conversation. Their home is beautiful, their hosting impeccable, and the breakfast was amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acoward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Our family of 4 stayed for a week thoroughly enjoying our time at mgm, with Marilyn & Glenn being the perfect hosts. They are knowledgable of the island providing plenty of tips for local attractions and very personable. During the week we spotted eagles, seals, deer, killer whale (fins) and this was from the balcony! The common lounge area is ideal for relaxing, watching a movie or having a coffee and reading a book in front of the fire. The bedrooms, bathrooms were well presented and stocked. The property suited families as much as it would suit couples for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam_alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We spent one night with Marilyn and Glen and really hated to leave. Their view is as good as it gets. They are accomplished hosts and make you feel they enjoy your company and visiting with you. Another couple came for one night and stayed three. We wish we could have also. If you get a chance to take the Honeymoon Suite do so as it is worth the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydetojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We had a great time with 5 women at this spectacular place. The home is built dramatically cascading down a rocky but accessible shoreline with several decks and seating areas to catch the setting sun and ocean view. From inside the large windows made it feel like we were on a cruise ship with unlimited water views. The common space is very open and spacious to easily spread out for relaxing and catching up. We had a good sized bar area to set up for drinks and food and comfortable furniture to gather around. The bedrooms are generously sized and very comfortable with a clean, well planned bathroom with a second one at our disposal. I was perfect for a girls night, we never left, but close enough to shopping and shorelines to explore if we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After a long travel, and walk. Glenn and Marilyn welcomed us into their home with open arms, wonderful personalities and warming hearts. We stumbled upon their B and B by chance, and it was an experiance of a life time. The views was a paradise all in its own. They made us feel like we weren't just guests in their home, but more friends visiting friends for the weekend. The breakfast that they made for us, was better than any 5 star restraunt that we've ever been too. We will forever have gratitude for making our stay as special as they made it for us. We just didn't leave a B and B, we left with friends. Thank you so much Glenn and Marilyn for the amazing time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymeandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

MGM Seashore B&B Nanaimo is an excellent B&B. The hosts Marilyn and Glenn make each individual feel like an honoured guest. We have 3 children but they made each one feel special. Their B&B is in a spectacular location right beside the sea, north of Nanaimo and has spectacular views. It is decorated to a high standard and has spacious rooms with great facilities which include a comfortable lounge, hot tub, large balconies on all floors and a pool table/plenty of games. Breakfasts were delicious and Marilyn and Glenn were keen to cater for all tastes and diets.



Being from the UK, it was good to be able to meet other guests from Canada and around the world and chat, thanks to the relaxed atmosphere.



It is in a superb location for exploring the whole island. We went north to Telegraph Cove, west to Tofino and south to Victoria in day trips. However, there was more than enough to keep us occupied in the Nanaimo area. We did some wonderful hikes just up the road and went in to Nanaimo itself. A highlight of our 5 week trip to Canada for the children was fishing at Dingy Dock Restaurant on Prospect Island, just off the coast of Nanaimo, where they provide fishing rods and bait.



If we ever decide to set up a B&B then Marilyn and Glenn will certainly be our role models!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynedear5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
Downtown
Victoria Marriott Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nanaimo Ocean View B&B
#5 of 34 in Nanaimo
40 reviews
Bev & Sandy's Place B&B
#4 of 34 in Nanaimo
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MGM Seashore Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4950 Fillinger Cres | British Columbia, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9V 1H9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range: $132 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular oceanfront B&B in our modern executive home in north Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. All three rooms offer ocean view, decks with hot tub, a beach deck, with garden steps between. Included is an games/entertainment/sitting area, coffee/tea/cappuccino bar, fruit bowl and the famous Nanaimo Bar dessert, gourmet breakfasts, menu changes daily and caters to any dietary needs. Enjoy our smoke and pet free environment. We promise a memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing