We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese food on the Island!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Tang

Da Tang
Ranked #142 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food on the Island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

A friend recommended Da Tang's to us and we thought we would check out the restaurant. We were in for a treat! The service and food were both top notch and we soon discovered the BEST Chinese food we have had on Vancouver Island. This restaurant is not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Been to Da Tang 3 times and it keeps getting better! My wife and I have added it to the regular rotation of places to eat. The Singapore fried noodles are the best I have had in a long time. It's very hard to go there without having them. Every thing we had was excellent, even the seasonal stir fried vegetables were noteworthy. Service was fast and friendly, the food was reasonably quick (the place was busy). The chef (owner?) came out as we were leaving to see how we had liked it. Smiles all around. The only downside was that the air conditioning didn't seem to be working that well the night we were there, it was a bit warm. Overall, a very positive experience and highly recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Da Tang”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Best Chinese food i've found in Canada. Probably the most authentic Chinese i've had outside of Hong Kong or Kuala Lumpur. We stumbled on the restaurant with the help of a very nice couple from Nanaimo after asking some locals for a recomendation. I was looking for some seafood and the couple recomended Da Tang. The location was about 1 mile off of the main highway and about 5-6 miles north of the Ferry landing, Duke's Point I think it is called. Nice selection of seafood dishes with outstanding fried rice. I'd requested the chef to "heat-up" my dish and they were very accomodating. Nice, simple decor and clean, this restaurant is all about the food.Great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Best Chinese food I have had in a while. It was so fresh and not too greasy, it was a nice surprise. The service was a little slow but it was worth it, I will definitely be back again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pinkneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This has to be some of the best Chinese food I have had in a long time. I was full and joined some friends and still enjoyed everything. We ordered green beans with egg and the chef came out and made sure we had this before and explained it was black egg so he changed it to our liking. We had bbq duck, scallops, bbq pork chow me in, sweet and sour pork with pineapple. It was all very delicious and cooked to perfection. I can not stand over cooked food and all was perfect.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joinkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Tang also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Da Tang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing