We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nanaimo's BEST Greek restaurant.”

Marina's Taverna and Pizza
Ranked #3 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Pizza, Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and enjoy traditional Greek Cuisine. We offer fresh cooked meals daily, using high quality ingredients. Our portions are large and very reasonably priced. We look forward to serving you.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nanaimo's BEST Greek restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

What a surprise! A group of us came into the restaurant upon being recommended by friends. Wow, we were amazed by the ambiance,service, prices and the array of flavors. As a group of six we decided to share several items from the menu.

We began with kalamari, dolmades, saganaki, warm beets and the hummus. All of the dishes were fresh, traditionally prepared and mouth watering. The kalamari melted in our mouths and would have to be the best I have ever tasted. Our main courses consisted of moussaka, roast lamb, spanakopita, and tri-souvlaki. The roast lamb was by far the most tender and flavorful lamb I have ever had. The portions are huge and reasonable priced. The service was exceptional and the atmosphere was charming. This was one of the nicest dining experiences I have ever had. I can't reccomend Marinas enough for those who value quality dining experience!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    98
    27
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
182 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews - Marinas is Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Having read all the stellar reviews we took a party of 8 to Marinas. We were not disappointed.
Wonderful menu, hard to elect based on all the selections. This is a Greek-Italian fusion restaurant - from exceptional Greek food to scrumptious pizzas.
My wife and I shared the Marinas Mixed Platter. We barely made a dent. Be advised, the servings are enormous. Our friends had the chicken parmesan, the lamb roast, and perhaps the best lasagna I've ever had.
The owners, Marina and Evan greeted us and provided excellent and attentive service throughout our meal. The decor is fresh, clean, and Santorini-like.
This is definitely one of the best restaurants in Nanaimo and one of our new favorites. Definitely worth trying. All 8 of us agreed that this was an evening to remember.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gerronimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will be back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

Great Greek food, great prices and large portions. Good service, comfortable and nicely decorated inside. Delicious tender kalamari & awesome classic lasagna. Will definitely be returning...loved the big comfy pillows and chairs

Helpful?
Thank blmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Greek food, very large servings.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Marina's has a good Greek ambiance, tile floors, blue and white decor, and a sunhouse feeling with glass ceilings and walls on the front of the restaurant. This is inhibited a bit because the restaurant is on the old island highway and the deck is right beside a very busy auto route. the saganaki was excellent, the humus very smooth and the portions very large. One of our party had the rack of lamb, which the server and later chef kept calling lamb chops which should have been a clue. It was very tough, sinewy, fatty and not well cooked. The other dishes were mostly good but somewhat oversalted for our tastes. Decent kalamari, very good Mousaka, good lasagne, good chicken souvlaki, good dolmades, good pita. No lamb souvlaki yet. The Spanakopita was average. If you want excellent Greek food, Astera's is still much better.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
179 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely setting and meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is a very comfortable and appealing restaurant in shades of Greek blue. I tried the beef skewer tonight after a long day of exploring and building an appetite in Nanaimo. It was tender, moist, and beautifully seasoned. It was served with rice, potato and freshly made pita after a wonderful Greek salad. Everything was delicious and plentiful.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AvaE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina's Taverna and Pizza also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Marina's Taverna and Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing