We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoying Lunch”

Kim's Korean BBQ House
Ranked #44 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoying Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

This is a small restaurant that specializes in Korean BBQ dishes. Although there are only approximately 30 items on the menu to choose from, the items that they do serve are delicious. Because of it's small size, there is an atmosphere that is both cozy and friendly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Korean Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

My first time, and was very impressed. I had the Pork Belly and it was tender, nice and spicey. Came with a selection of side dishes and tea. Fast and great service, I will return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lost1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

I had an oppotunity to try Kims Korean bbq. Their name is kim's bbq but no table bbq. I was so excited to try korean table bbq because of the name. Most dishes that we ordered were ok but not so impressed. Too sweet and something missed?? In my experience, Korean food should not be too sweet. They need to make a balance of taste. Service was fine though.

Helpful?
3 Thank chinaloveyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food & good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Three of us went for lunch there for the first time and were very impressed with the food, the service, the cleanliness and the décor. We've eaten lots of Korean food at the home of Korean friends and from our Canadian viewpoint the restaurant is authentic. I had the bi-bim-bap hot pot (rice, veggies, ground beef and egg), and it was very good. Our meals came with various side dishes - all very tasty. Great value for money. Our waitress was very helpful with explanations of the menu items and side dishes, and her excellent service added to the enjoyment of the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Delicious Korean Food in Nanaimo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

So thankful that Kim's has come to town! We have been missing Korean food and Kim's delivers. I've had the Bimbap, and the BBQ plate with Lettuce and it's huge and delicious.

The service is good, but as it becomes more and more popular they will need to hire another server as it is going to get busy.

Looking forward to our next meal at Kim's.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MindiP1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim's Korean BBQ House also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Kim's Korean BBQ House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing