We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family friendly accomodation”
Comfortable and spacious living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable and spacious living room
Enjoy cooking while you socialize Spacious and bright bedroom, clean and comfortable queen bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Comfortable and spacious living room
Enjoy cooking while you socialize
Spacious and bright bedroom, clean and comfortable queen bed
Clean four piece bathroom with fluffy towels, shower and tub
Flat screen TV with Netflix
Natural light brightens living space
Bright dining space with comfortable table
Well stocked washroom - includes linen closet filled with fluffly towels and quality linens
Dishes, pots, pans, blender, coffee maker, kettle, microwave - just stock the kitchen
Entrance to building, parking space to right of door, condo on top corner of building on right, facing bowen
Enjoy the view of the grounds and park from your balcony
Another view from the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ashley_e...
Parksville, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family friendly accomodation”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My husband, toddler, infant and I stayed for April and May and the unit was perfect for our needs. To start off, Cathy and Brent are wonderful hosts. They met us at the building to introduce themselves and give us a quick tour of the unit. They give you space to enjoy your stay like you are in your own home, but are incredibly fast at getting back to you with information or anything you might need. They are a wonderful resource on the area as well, which was helpful because we weren't familiar with the area.

Now the unit itself. My family was relocating due a chance in work and needed a place to stay while our one home sold and we took possession of our new home. Travelling with small children is never easy, but this unit provided the perfect space to act as our home away from home. It was easy to baby proof and there was ample space to set up a playard in the spare bedroom. The unit comes stocked with everything you could think of - dishes, blender, toaster, kettle, slow cooker, towels, soap, bedding ,etc. There were even ziplock bags and a few spices. The place was warm and bright and the Netflix access was a definite plus. The only drawback was that there was no elevator (that was no surprise, Cathy and Brent mention that in their listing) - but that was truthfully a benefit as well because it gave me some daily exercise and my toddler LOVED climbing the stairs. And the parking space is right at the front of the building, so it was a quick trip from the parking lot into the building. And the beds and furniture - so comfortable.

Lastly, the area. The unit felt really centrally located. We were within minutes to parks, the ocean, coffee and groceries. Across the street is Bowen Park, which has playing fields, a pool, tennis courts, trails, a playground. I cannot even express how great this park is. And if you have a car, the sky's the limit. You are minutes to the Collary Dam, Butterfield Marsh and all the amenities and sights that Nanaimo has to offer.

Thank you to Cathy and Brent for a wonderful stay. Thank you for making our transition so smooth and comfortable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The proximiity of the property to Bowen Park
Liked least: The stairs
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol R
Barrie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“C & D Barrie Ont”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A wonderful, spacious condo. Has every thing you might need for your stay. The condo is as the photos say. The beds are comfy, yet firm enough for any back problems you might have. Large closets in both bedrooms, and hall. The bathroom is well equipped. The kitchen is well equipped too, and plenty of cupboard space. There is lots of light in the condo, no need to have hydro on all the time, and it is very warm, had to keep the heat down, as it was too warm for us. The building is an older building, and could do with a new painting, and the hall carpets need replacing or a good cleaning, but this had no reflect on the condo.
Cathy and Brent, are wonderful hostes, when we did have a couple of problems (as we were there for the winter, and wanted TV service, Shaw was there right a way, even when they were away on their own holiday, managed to fix an Internet problem for us.
We didn't have a car as we flew into Nanaimo, so used the bus service, #'s 30 & 40. The bus service is very good, and the drivers are wonderful and very helpful. We picked this condo, because we wanted to be need Bowen Park and the Senior Center, there is also the Butternut March in walking distance too.
Would I recommend this condo to you, yes, in a heart beat, you will have a wonderful stay, whether it's for a couple of nights or a more extended stay.
One thing Cathy, I think might be helpful is, if you could install a "bath bar" a portable suction type would work out fine, and also in the second bedroom, if you moved the bed 6 inches nearer to the door, would make it easier to make the bed, would have done it my self, but it was too heavy for me.
Thank you Cathy and Brent, sorry we had to leave early, my kidney stone, didn't like flying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the condo and friendliness of the owners.
Liked least: The fact that the laundry was down stairs, (which we knew before hand)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bb_artemi...
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Perfect home base in Nanaimo”
Reviewed January 16, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The apartment was the perfect place to stay close to town. The kitchen had everything we needed to enjoy quiet evening in, and the location was perfect for visiting Westwood lake and a quick jaunt to Ladysmith. Cathy was incredibly welcoming and hospitable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haroldpar...
Lennox Head
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
“Great Rental”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely apartment, very comfortable. Easy walking distance to town. Great park opposite with lots of different activities. Highly recommend. Owners were extremely helpful.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnie1109
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family vacation stay”
Reviewed October 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

When we first arrived at the building, it seemed older, and don't let that fool you, once we went up the stairs to the unit and through the door, it was beautiful. The sun was beaming in, the setup was clean and well placed, the furniture was of quality, and it seemed to have everything you need for a stay away from home without feeling like you forgot anything. The TV had Netflix and other on-demand services, so the kids were entertained while we were there either preparing meals or planning our day. It is a 2 bedroom unit, and the rooms were large, not to make you feel like you were limited to just a bed in a room. The beds provided a good nights rest and made you ready for next day. The bathroom is small, but had a good bath/shower, and was bright and clean. The exterior deck was a perfect place for morning coffee, it had tree coverage and to east, the sun warming you, while you think about the days adventures ahead.

The building is located across from Bowen park, which is a nice feature, as this park is large and has a lot to offer for both day activities or just for a short walk after supper. It is not too far from the downtown of Nanaimo and is just a short drive down Bowen road to get to any amenities.

All in all, this stay was worth the value. You get a clean, nice space, and you feel like your leaving a home when you are preparing to leave. I would recommend this to anybody staying in Nanaimo, for the short term or for longer periods of time. Next time we come to visit family, or for any other reason to come to this lovely island city, we will be booking this space again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleE...
Merritt, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, convenient, clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This condo was a great place to stay! It is an older building but do not judge by the outside of the building. The renovated condo has lots of room and makes you feel right at home. Very well located to so many things (food, shopping, ocean)! The whole place is equipped with everything you need and the balcony is lovely in the evenings. The location is quiet and comfortable. We will definitely be staying here again the next time we head to the Island.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanPaul20...
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“excellent place, more than we expected”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have young children so we need a place with a kitchen. This was a perfect place. The owner is very welcoming. The place is very spacious and clean ...way better than a hotel. We have our mother with us who is in her 80s and the owner even provided extra bed which was really nice. The building is very quiet, close to downtown and in front of a beautiful park.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing