We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can it get better than this?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nanaimo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 33 Nanaimo B&B and Inns
Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Can it get better than this?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

My wife and I have been visiting the Nanaimo/Parksville areas for several years now. We have stayed at the highest rated accommodations in the area, which include hotels and self catering cottages but never a B&B, so this was a first for us. I can tell you that this B&B provided us with a 5 star experience in every sense of the word.
The house nestles into the side of a large hill overlooking Departure Bay. It is near the top of the hill, and the views are absolutely magnificent.
The house initially presents as a single level built off to the right side of the brick driveway. There is adequate parking in the driveway for several cars. The entrance to the house is unexpectedly breathtaking, as you step into the entrance hall and are treated to breathtaking views of Nanaimo's Departure Bay. We were greeted by the charming and hospitable hosts, Neil and Vivian.
Vivian is a past interior decorator and it shows, everywhere you look. The house is spacious, light, beautifully laid it and impeccably clean. It is spread across 3 levels, the top level encompassing the owners' suite, a handsome dining room, an attractive breakfast nook, and then a gorgeous deck overlooking Departure Bay, where our gracious hosts treated us to a most enjoyable cheese and wine reception.
The middle level has a comfortable visitors lounge decorated in a classic style, and outside is a large hot tub on a second deck, also overlooking Departure Bay. The bedroom on this deck is spacious, comfortable, has a bathroom that can be used as an en-suite, and yet another sweeping view of the Bay.
We stayed in the suite on the lowest level. It lacked the Bay view, but it was larger, it had a fireplace, a sitting area, a kitchenette, a spacious bathroom with a rain shower and a heated floor, and the use of a small private courtyard which we would have used had we not hit a rainy spell. Our visit however was by no means compromised by the weather, such was the quality and comfort of the accommodations.
But I have left the best for last. the breakfasts, ,oh, the breakfasts! A completely different breakfast every day, fresh, delicious, light and filling, nothing like most people ever experience.
Finally, it's not only thanks to the comfortable beds and the quiet environment that one gets such a good night's sleep. This residence has been constructed so as to be almost completely soundproof. When we were in our room, we were absolutely unaware that there was another person in the entire residence.
So we will be back of course, and hopefully this B&B won't be fully booked for the entire season.

Room Tip: All of the accomodatIons are 5 Star. You either get a wonderful view or a larger room with a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EaglesEye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ukee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I was an absolute treat to stay at the FLying CLoud. Every detail of my experience was welcoming: a fire left on for my arrival, heated tiles and plush rugs on the floor, a selectiontion of teas in the tea chest, cookies in the cookie jar, sherry and glasses on the coffee table in front of the sofa, and just the cosiest bed. It is no wonder that the hosts, Vivian and Neil, have won the Moyra Turner award (BC Innkeepers Guild award) for their hospitality.
The guest areas include outside areas to sit and enjoy the sun and the amazing view of the ocean, a common area with a pool table, board games, and a bar, a hot tub, and outdoor breakfasts on warm days with a view that is mesmorizing.
I was surprised that this amazing Bed and Breakfast has had so few reviews on Trip Advisor. I can only imagine that these wonderful people simply have never asked their guests for anything in return. Asked or not I have to say that 5 starts is not enough for this Bed and Breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyBg00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights having travelled from Vancouver. This is without a doubt the most delightful b and b we have ever stayed in. Our annual holidays for the past 14 years have been spent in the USA, predominantly in B&Bs, most of which have been excellent, so we are no novices when it comes to judging quality of service and location. Flying Cloud has it all.
Let me start with Vivian and Neil our hosts. Affable, funny, knowledgeable and very very welcoming. Their home sits on a hill overlooking Naniamo and the ferry at Departure bay is but a few minutes away. We chose to arrive from Taswassen to Duke Point but even that is only a short drive to Naniamo.
Guests are accommodated one floor down from the main house with both bedrooms having the most wonderful views. Breakfast is taken on the main floor or on the deck if the weather permits. Vivian cooks, Neil serves. They are vegetarians but if you're a meat eater don't let that put you off, believe me you won't notice its absence. The food is wonderful and don't get me started on the muffins!! The accommodation is exceptional in every way from the half sized billiard table to the sauna and hot tub. Beds are extremely comfortable and as always in this part of the world the showers are brilliant! It is impossible not to warm to Viv and Neil, they are without exception the nicest folk we have met in a long time.
Their knowledge of the locale is extensive as you might expect and their recommendations may be totally relied upon.
It was our first time in Canada and we could not have asked for a better introduction to this part of the country, we should have allowed more time. We could find absolutely no fault with this b and b. When we left, we left two good friends behind.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike056_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We were planning a 1 night stay and ended up staying 3. Location ideal to explore the island. You can make a day trip to Tofino and Victoria from this location. Butchard Gardens is a short ferry trip away. You will need a car. Nanaimo is easily reached from the Horseshoe Bay ferry in West Vancouver. This means it will be possible to visit Whistler for a day trip from this location. The rooms have spectacular harbour views. You see the ferry's and seaplanes coming and going while having a soak in the hottub on the veranda. The guesthouse features a guest floor with a infrared light sauna, pooltable and small kitchenette. The owners are locals from the island. They give wonderfull advice and if they do not know they find out.

The biggest treat was the 5 star breakfast!

Do not drive past Nanaimo again. Make it your home base and explore the island from there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaskatchewanJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meltingen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

wow! What a nice couple! What a nice House! And the wiev! Perfect!
see:
flyingcloudbedandbreakfast.com

Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank martinaborer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2006

My daughter and I stayed for four nights at the Flying Cloud in August 2006 and had a lovely and relaxing time. Vivian and Neil are wonderful and friendly hosts, who saw to our every comfort and need. In addition to the panoramic views of Departure Bay, their beautiful home offers a variety of amenities, including a pool table, t.v. lounge, hot tub and infra red sauna. Then there was the food. Our breakfasts included a fruit starter, freshly baked muffins and a main entree. Wine and cheese in the late afternoon and yummy squares in the evening were an added and appreciated bonus. All in all, we had an excellent stay and hope to return sometime in the future. I would highly recommend The Flying Cloud as a great place to stay in Nanaimo.

Helpful?
2 Thank jazzywhiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
3.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Buccaneer Inn
Buccaneer Inn
#4 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
2.6 mi away
Long Lake Waterfront B&B
1.6 mi away
Maple View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast

Property: Flying Cloud Bed and Breakfast
Address: 581 Cumberland Pl, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4S5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely home with panoramic views of the harbour, downtown, Newcastle island and Gabriola island. 8 minutes from the Vancouver to Nanaimo ferry and yet once arrived, one feels miles from the hustle and bustle. Sunny south facing rooms, large guest lounge with billiard table, hostess counter, TV, library. Top quality beds, beautiful linens for a luxury sleep. Breakfasts a culinary delight! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing