We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hammond Bay Oceanside Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Buccaneer Inn(Nanaimo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
32
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningwonderful hostsbeautiful spotlarge bathroombald eaglessitting areab bunitfireplacecoast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 35 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here during Christmas and it was super fantastic to say the least. My wife's first time in a B&B and she did not know what to expect.. and I must say they set the bar pretty high for our next B&B experience.
Its a wonderful place, and it was lucky for us that we received an upgrade to a beautiful suite within the property.. simply beautiful.. The Breakfast was terrific and served to us every morning piping hot.. and the young lady (Karen) who runs the place was very accommodating in giving us ideas and recommendation for things to do and places to dine..
the only bad thing i could say it that we had to leave to soon.

definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B787skipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Thank you for making our 2-night stay a treasure to be remembered.

Seeing the Alaska-bound cruise ships, with Shanty Island as foreground, was incredible, as were the blackberries at the beach below the house.

Room Tip: The apartment-style efficiency was very much appreciated.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuckie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just a beautiful Bed & Breakfast in Nanaimo with a great view on the sea and direct access to the stoney beach. The rooms are nicley decorated with good sence for detail. We enjoyed our three day stay very much, gasping at the beauty of the sea while having a rich breakfast..

The B&B is located only 10 Minutes away by car from the town center.

Definetely one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

No detail was forgotten in the owners' attempt to provide beauty, comfort, rest, and convenience for guests. The ocean views from our rooms were incredible. Hiking, beach-combing, and blackberry-picking accessible from the backyard. Lulled to sleep by sound of ocean caressing the shore. We'd planned to leave early each day to sight-see, but upon arrival, found the place so relaxing that we lingered to enjoy just being in the beautiful location with inspiring views. Sat with coffee outside in comfy robe/slippers our hosts provided to take in ocean & sunrise each morning . Bald eagles seen just off private patio in back of each room. Very quiet and private. HIGHLY recommend stay here - loads better than any hotel. Down the back steps, short walk to Piper's lagoon park where you can stroll on short, flat beach walks or rough it on hiking trails to rocky outcrops with ocean views. Short drive from Departure Bay ferry terminal, stores, downtown Nanaimo. Good central location from which to explore north/south Vanc. Isle.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playinghard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We are considering moving to Nanaimo and were here for 3 days to look at houses. The experience here, waking up to the spectacular ocean/mountain views was definitely a compelling argument for the move.

We stayed in the Bayside room which had a fantastic brick gas fireplace and a very, very comfortable queen-size bed. The room came with a complementary bottle of home-made wine, fridge, microwave, TV, DVD/VCR and some chocolate mints. The bathroom was very roomy and had double sinks but unfortunately no bathtub. There were also strategically placed candles with a fireplace-style lighter left beside them for convenience. Very cozy!

Just outside the room was an area with plenty of comfortable seating to take in the view and a couple of tables with more candles and another lighter. We sat outside one night even though the weather was quite cool (there was a blanket there as well), lit candles, sipped wine and watched the moon rise over the bay. Beautiful!

The delicious breakfasts cooked by Brenda were served in the dining room upstairs, also overlooking the water. We only saw Karen once when we first arrived but Bill was there every morning to tell us about the area and make sure we were being looked after.

The only reason I didn't give Hammond Bay Oceanside 100% was because there was no bathtub and no wireless internet. There was internet, but you need to plug an ethernet cable into the outlet and I had to ask for the ethernet cable. So I have to dock 0.5% and can only give them 99.5%. Definitely one of the top B&B experiences we've had.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews