We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Painted Turtle Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Hostel!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I can honestly say this is the best hostel I have ever been too! it's cheap, the staff are lovely and it makes Nanaimo shine for me! Nanaimo doesn't seem to have a lot for tourists to the naked eye, but being at this hostel I was shown lovely places to go and soon realised it's a fantastic place! The rooms are big, bathrooms are always clean, and kitchen/living area makes you feel at home right away!

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randompers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
7
38
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

No complaints. Pleasant experience. Comfy bed and good location. Price was good to. Excellent facilities and friendly staff. Bathrooms were shared but contained toilet and shower so once you entered you had a very private space.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTeam121, General Manager at Painted Turtle Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear KJU,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Painted Turtle Guesthouse with your fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. It is our goal to not only met our guests expectation but to exceed them.

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed our facilities and location in beautiful downtown Nanaimo.

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Nanaimo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean and we have slept on worse beds. Bathrooms/showers are shared but there are plenty of them. We didn't use the common area but I had a look in case of future stays and it looks good. Check-in was quick and painless, and we forgot a pair of headphones in the room and they called us to let us know which is always appreciated. I would stay again - and if you're looking for budget accommodation with a cool atmosphere and a little privacy this is the place. The one big drawback is parking. There is some street parking around, but barring finding a space you will have to park in the parkade up a block. The location is nice however, an easy jaunt from the ferry, close the marina and surrounded by funky shops and restaurants.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Nice little hostel in the downtown core of Nanaimo. All you basic services, good internet and great dining options close by. Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms and common areas are clean.

I stayed here while on course at the Western Maritime Institute. A much creeper option then the school dorm and only 15 min away.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are noisy on the weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurgerBillEh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTeam121, General Manager at Painted Turtle Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Dear KJU,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Painted Turtle Guesthouse with your fellow Trip Advisor reviewers. It is our goal to not only met our guests expectation but to exceed them.

We are an ideal long term stay option for visitors exploring Vancouver Island, students studying at VIU, or for anyone re-locating to Nanaimo

Thank you again for your feedback, we truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experiences so we can celebrate our successes.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Nanaimo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the hostel for only 2 nights. They have a nice common area and the rooms/washrooms were tidy. The location is central, which is good, and the staff members were helpful, but also it didn't feel like they were trying to make the stay anything special. A simple smile could have changed that. The short time I stayed was nothing too spectacular, but if you're just passing through Nanaimo on a tight budget, consider staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kante90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goch, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Painted Turtle Guesthouse has a fantastic location in the heart of Nanaimo right downtown!
There's no place like the Painted Turtle. Their staff is awesome. Best hostel I've ever stayed in!! 5 Stars deserved!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templemore, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a brilliant stay in the Painted Turtle hostel. The hostel was gorgeous, very clean, very modern and a great location. UNFORTUNATELY, some members of staff did not live up to the hostels great standard, In fact they let it down with a bang! When staying in various hostels its not been our experience to be told "SHUT UP" and "GET TO YOUR ROOMS!" as the staff here told a group of us. We were all just completely shocked at this treatment and left the next day. While some staff members were really friendly we also witnessed one of the front desk attendants very rudely talking to cleaning staff.

Room Tip: Be aware some rooms are located near a nightclub and can be quiet noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoife L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TurtleTeam121, Manager at Painted Turtle Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hello Aoife,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We appreciate the feedback and we're happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities.

We have a "ssssssh policy" after 10 pm to ensure that all guests can get a quiet night's sleep. We always try to approach our guests with respect and courtesy when enforcing this policy and we're sorry if you feel like you were disrespected that night. However, in the event that our night caretaker has to repeatedly ask the same group of people to quiet down and stop congregating in hallways and (shared) dorm rooms, a more firm tone may be justified in order to ensure the comfort of the other guests in the property.

The environment at our Guesthouse is not conducive to late night or early morning get-togethers and parties and it's the reason why most people love staying with us. However, our staff are always happy to recommend some great local pubs and bars, in the event that a group of guests would like to get together with some drinks after our quiet hours are into effect.

We hope to see you back in Nanaimo some day!

Safe travels,

Painted Turtle Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,270 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Turtle Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Turtle Guesthouse

Property: Painted Turtle Guesthouse
Address: 121 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 3A2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Painted Turtle Guesthouse 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the newest, freshest and funkiest accommodation in Nanaimo, then you've found it - the Painted Turtle Guesthouse.We opened July 2004, in a fully renovated and refurbished 1913 heritage building. Located in the heart of the waterfront/arts district downtown, we are among the trendy cafes & restaurants, pubs & clubs, art galleries, bakeries, street performers and local points of interest.The Guesthouse is extremely well appointed and has received the highest possible standard available as a BC Approved Accommodation. We are also an affiliated Hosteling International Property. All features have been designed with the active traveler in mind, but we have thrown in a few special features. The Great Room, in the heart of the building features a fully self-contained kitchen and spacious dining area, lounge with fireplace, games, books, magazines and computers. We provide free WIFI throughout the property. The bathrooms are all centrally located and private use. All linens and towels are provided free of charge and laundry services are available onsite. Breakfast options and essential store are located in the lobby for your convenience. We have 3 room types catering to every type of traveler. Classic -private room with queen sized bed, private Family rooms with queen sized beds and bunk beds, or dorm style accommodation. Lockers/charging stations are provided in all shared accommodation.Gateway to internationally acclaimed Vancouver Island, Nanaimo is the “Harbour City” and features a fabulous ocean-side location. Easily accessible by ferry from downtown Vancouver, and is a great base camp to venture to other Island destinations. Experience the Island’s natural beauty, attractions, and endless recreational and adventure pursuits! We look forward to meeting you and making you stay in Nanaimo memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Painted Turtle Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing