We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this walk”

Harbourfront Walkway
Ranked #2 of 80 things to do in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this walk”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Frequently, my little dog and I do this walk. Very interesting for people watching. Really fun if a cruise boat is in Nanaimo - so many happy faces! Paved trail/walk. Views to die for. Lots to see and a few places to pick up an ice cream or coffee with seating outside along the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IslandGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    130
    22
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
175 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfect evening stroll”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Nicely done boardwalk area with pubs and shops along the way. Very easy to get when coming through Nanaimo. Generally safe and well lit for our night time stroll. Not many shops were up later on, just the restuarants and the ice cream places. Also a good proximity to seaplanes for quick escapes when necessary. Also able to find interesting street performers on the way.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neets007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
“Can't imagine a visit to Nanaimo and not going on the Harbourfront Walkway!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Our favourite experience in Nanaimo. We've been up and down the walkway, at all times of the day and night, for 17+ years and this is still one of our favourite things to do here and to recommend to visitors to Nanaimo. The beautiful vistas, the lagoon, crab dock, coffee shops and restaurants and all the way down to BC Ferries at Departure Bay.

At the ferry terminal, on the west side, there is an extension of the walkway that takes you down to the beach. From there you can access the beach to Departure Bay or head west and up through Beach Estates Park, a veritable rainforest grove in the centre of town.

I honestly can't imagine coming to Nanaimo and not enjoying a walk up and down the Seawall. Showcases the best natural views of our community.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel suggested a walk to the Nanaimo Waterfront. It was a wonderful treat. The walk was lovely, locals we encountered were great to talk to and it was fun just to sit and watch the harbor activity. I learned so much about crabbing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kayla_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful views”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Views were gorgeous, walkway very easy. About 3 miles round trip. Even in the rain it was beautiful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DKP_CCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbourfront Walkway also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Harbourfront Walkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing