We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely waterfront home”
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Stunning custom designed home & private gardens on the ocean in Departure Bay
Oceanfront with views on both levels
Front door to main house and access to the ocean front patio
Enjoy your morning coffee from the upper deck with a gorgeous view
Your sunrise as the house faces east
Your beach directly in front of the house
Your view from the kitchen into living room, dining room and the ocean
The convivial gourmet kitchen and bar seating for 4 people
The open kitchen has views of the ocean. The dining room has seating for 8 to 10 people.
A large gas fireplace warms the living room. Gorgeous views from every angle.
This is Octavia the octopus, our house mascot. This picture was taken by our guest Michelle.
The dining area can easily seat between 8-10 people
The main floor master bedroom has a king bed, large walk-in closet, huge private ensuite bathroom
The main floor master has views of the ocean while lying in bed
Main floor master ensuite bathroom with soaker tub and shower
Upper level family room & office - amazing views!
Upper level family room with a big gas fireplace and ocean views
Upper level master bedroom with queen and access to private deck
Upper level master bedroom with queen bed and private ensuite bathroom
Upper level master bedroom privatge ensuite bathroom with large walk-in shower
Upper level bedroom with two double beds and gorgeous ocean views
Upper level bedroom with two double beds, its own TV and lots of closet space
Upper level main bathroom - share by two bedrooms
Upper bedroom with queen bed and access to a private deck
Your protected private back deck for sunny afternoons
Large capacity Magtag washer & dryer
The house faces east so the sun rise is spectacular
Winter on the ocean is just a beautiful as the summer
A walk along Departure Bay in the winter - this was taken in February 2014
One of our resident otters after a successful fishing trip
Another gorgeous sun rise on Departure Bay
An incoming BC Ferry and a larger cargo tanker awaiting a mooring spot in Vancouver
There is great fishing to be had in the area. We can direct you to a good local fishing guides
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
69WorldTr...
Callicoon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Lovely waterfront home”
Reviewed September 9, 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful house on the water with fabulous views of Departure Bay and beyond to the mainland. The yard between the house and the water is professionally landscaped with lovely walks and plantings, and a table for outside dining most of the year.
The house is expertly appointed with everything we ever wanted in a kitchen. The ensuite master bedroom has a huge walk-in closet.
There is easy access to restaurants, shopping, the city center, local markets, and ferries.
The owner/manager is fastidious about every detail of the house, and is a wealth of helpful information about local stores, restaurants, and activities.
There are also bicycles and kayaks available for exercise.
An absolutely delightful place to spend a vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2018
Dear Fran and Bob, Thank you so very much for your generous review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I had fun helping you to become "a local" in Nanaimo. Take care and we hope to have you visit us again in the future. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josee D
1 review
“Gorgeous house on a beautiful beach!”
Reviewed August 22, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

I highly recommend this house! A beautiful house, fully equipped on a beautiful beach front. The house is very spacious (we slept 7), the kitchen is fully equipped and the owner is very helpful and friendly. The view is breath-taking. We took our children for walks on the beach during low tide and they found crabs, starfish, shells and jelly fish. We also saw otters in the water. A solid 5/5 stars!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 23, 2018
Dear Josee, Thank so very much for your kind and thoughtful review. It touches on so many key points about the house. I appreciate your most gracious compliments. Take care. We hope to have you as our guests again in the future. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdbelp
Ruidoso, New Mexico
1 review
“Beyond your wildest dream! Super nice property, super nice/attentive owner!”
Reviewed August 9, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The property is very nicely kept with everything nicely cleaned upon our arrival. The amenities are as described and beyond. If it's not there, you don't need it. While we didn't use them the toys, consisting of bicycles and kayaks looked great too. Su maintains assorted sightseeing materials and the ever important red binder. The binder has recommendations for just about anything you might want during your stay. Do try the recommended fish monger and the butcher is a must. The two gathering areas within the home (1 up, 1 down) are great for different activities. The kitchen is a foodie's dream.....and better than all that is the great owner! She cares and wants you to have a good time. You'll be more than pleased with this property and owner.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 11, 2018
Hello Ron & clan, Thank you most kindly for your wonderful review. You folks where hands-down some of my best guests ever! I enjoyed hearing about your daily adventures and the meals you feasted upon each night. We'd welcome you back with open arms! Take care and we hope of have you back as our guests at some point in the future. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maataj
Olathe, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
Reviewed July 31, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

This is our second time in this home and third time renting from the very sweet and competent property manager, Su. She is fabulous beyond words in her responsiveness, accommodations, and communications! Her home is consistently beautiful, well-equipped, and perfect for our week vacation in the Nanaimo area. She doesn't leave a thing for us to wish for.. she's thought of absolutely everything you may need. The home is such a clean, classy style, while making you feel you can "use" it like you would your own home.. wonderfully relaxing and perfect for families! This time, my sisters, my son and 3 nephews enjoyed the home for the week. I can't recommend it enough.. great hiking, exploring, and eating in the area, as well as a nice oceanfront available for kayaking, toes in the water, swimming, or just sitting and enjoying the view. Thank you again for such an awesome experience!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2018
Ma'ata, You and your family are a joy to have at my homes. We welcoming having you back year over year and look forward to your return in summer 2019! Take care. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tomerl93
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed May 23, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We were 8 people (2 families) for a 3 night weekend and we had a great time!

The house is amazing, in a perfect condition and very well equipped. Even the pantry was full of everything we needed. The views from every corner of the house to the bay is stunning.

The other thing that we liked about the house is that it has 2 bedrooms with en-suite bathroom. This makes it perfect for 2 families, with no need for anyone to compromise.

Su made sure our stay is pleasant and took care of everything. She is a generous host and very attentive.

We've been in many places, this one is definitely one of the best we've been to.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2018
Dear Tomer, Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have two families from the BC Lower Mainland nip over to The Island for the Victoria Day long weekend. We are only a short ferry ride away but a million miles from the pace of life in Vancouver. It was great that you decided upon our beach house for a break away from hectic. We'd welcome you back anytime so please do come visit us again soon. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KDVig
Fort St. John, Canada
1 review
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect!”
Reviewed April 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Departure Bay Home was our very first rental. I have to say it will be a very hard one to beat. Booking was easy and communication with Su throughout the whole experience was very informative. Su was very helpful, making sure that we had all the information that we would need for our first visit to the Island.

The house itself was exceptional. It was very well stocked and your every need has been thought out for you. We were a group of seven and the house had plenty of large common areas to come together as a family, but most importantly great space for everyone to get away from one another! LOL

The house is very conveniently located to all amenities and Su was most helpful when it came to finding just the right things to keep us occupied.

I have saved the best for last though, that VIEW!
So peaceful and relaxing. I really cannot say enough about our time on the island. Thank you Su, for helping to make this a trip one that we will not forget any time soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 7, 2018
Dear Kelly & family,
You folks are such intrepid road warriors! I was so impressed that you drove from Fort St. John BC to Nanaimo for your spring break. That’s a lot of kilometers to get to the ocean. I am delighted your family enjoy their time at our house and took in all the things Nanaimo and the region has to offer. We’d welcome you back anytime; maybe the summer next time? All the best, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N
1 review
“Super location for family reunion!”
Reviewed January 25, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We selected this location and this property to accommodate our far-flung family (4 couples + 1 infant) so multiple bedrooms and bathrooms were key. Location was also a major consideration. Being directly on the beach at Departure Bay made it special as we enjoyed watching the activity (ferries, float planes, etc) in and around the harbour every day.
The house was in immaculate condition with a fully functional kitchen that allowed multiple people to cook, eat and cleanup. The two separate sitting areas with large gas fireplaces gave everybody lots of room to congregate in separate groupings depending on who wanted to do what. A complete selection of videos, large TV's and other entertainment options made it easy to relax, and it was no chore to stay inside and watch the rainy, winter weather outside! The property is well stocked with bikes and kayak which unfortunately we were not able to use due to the weather.
Su Grimmer was extremely helpful in getting everything organized for us so that our arrival was completely hassle-free when we arrived and could settle down to the business at hand and meet our first grandchild properly in a wonderful house with all our family present.
While January would normally not be the ideal time for a beach front house, it was perfect for our situation. We were able to find plenty to do in Nanaimo and its surroundings, and information was all available at the house as well. We got a recommendation from a friend about the Greek restaurant Asteris and had a wonderful family meal there, and second the recommendation.
All in all, we had a wonderful time, and being in such a beautiful house in a beautiful location made it all the more special.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 26, 2018
Hello Eduard, Far flung indeed. I was truly impressed that you came from as far away at Maine, amongst other corners of the USA, for your family gathering. It was a decided pleasure to have your family group stay at our house for the meeting of your new granddaughter/niece. Thank you most sincerely for your kind reviews and observations about our house, location and Nanaimo. We would welcome you back in a heartbeat. Take care. Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing