We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cozy, well appointed suite, surrounded in west...”
other travelers have booked this property
the Artful Suite - relax in the unique surroundings of hand made furnishings  and artwork.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the Artful Suite - relax in the unique surroundings of hand made furnishings  and artwork.
Enjoy the great local artwork, that is available should you want a keepsake of your trip Unique hand made furnishing made on site.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
the Artful Suite - relax in the unique surroundings of hand made furnishings  and artwork.
Enjoy the great local artwork, that is available should you want a keepsake of your trip
Unique hand made furnishing made on site.
Private, luxurious surroundings.
Art work in a wide variety of mediums is here for you to enjoy.
All artwork is available should you find something you would like to acquire for your home.
Big Green Tree - original art - we can arrange shipping for you.
Bedroom furnishings - even has a Scallion cap & sweater rack.
Hallway past bedroom to fully appointed kitchen.
Generous kitchen with eating area.
View from kitchen back to the bedroom
enjoy your self catered meals on the maple pastry table with live edge overlays.
Hand made tea pot by talented local artist.
wonderful original artwork through out the suite.  Wavescape a hand carved wall sculpture.
Summer blooms
Our working Studio  Gift/Art Gallery is located on the upper level where we reside as well
5 minute walk to Piper Lagoon Park, an amazing place for a picnic.
A 5 minute walk to the beach for some of the best swimming, diving, hiking, or wind surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Koalapurs...
2 reviews
“Cozy, well appointed suite, surrounded in west coast art!”
Reviewed November 3, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We were fortunate enough to stay in the Artful Suite and we really enjoyed the beautiful art that was enhanced every corner of this space. We noticed there was so my thought that went into this space to make it warm and welcoming. We enjoyed how close the suite was to Piper's Lagoon, just a short walk away.
We would definitely recommend this suite to friends and family!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay!
We look forward to having you again
Cheers
Norma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxF1865
1 review
“Lovely setting, convenient location”
Reviewed October 2, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I stayed here during a weekend in September to check out the Farm Cycle Tour in the Comox Valley and visit some relatives who live in the area.

My experience staying at the suite could not have been more pleasant. This spacious suite is well equipped with a comfortable bed (beautiful headboard), relaxing easy chairs and adorned with various beautiful handcrafted wood furniture.

One of my favorite aspects of the suite is how many comfortable places there are to spend time (living room, kitchen and delightful garden patio) and other amenities (cable TV, free wifi, and laundry facilities) that made every moment of my stay enjoyable. It was fun to marvel over the various pieces of art (paintings, glasswork and other mediums) produced by local artists on Vancouver Island.

A dedicated parking spot located directly next to the private entrance to the suite and the location made me feel safe and also made coming and going into town a breeze.

If you like privacy, spaciousness and beauty I would highly recommend checking this place out.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 3, 2017
Max,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay. We are so happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again!
Norma & Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaH1450
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very sweet suite!”
Reviewed September 19, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I stayed here during a short birthday getaway to Nanaimo. It was everything one could hope for in "away from home" accommodation. A full kitchen, a huge, comfortable bed, a spotlessly clean full bathroom, laundry facilities, and a comfortable, beautifully furnished sitting room. It was quiet and very private, yet centrally located for easy access to downtown, or the beautiful Pipers Lagoon Park which was basically across the road( 15 minute downhill walk) A healthy breakfast was available at extra cost but we chose to stick to our routine, every da,y raw cereal breakfast, which we had brought. During our stay, we took the opportunity to visit Robert's on site workshop where he handcrafts beautiful artisanal wood pieces, which he sells privately as well as through various Island galleries. In the Suite, nearly all of the furniture was made by him. Also featured were other works of art, mostly watercolors and acrylics, done by local artists. This truly was an experience in artfullness, comfort and convenience, and we really enjoyed our stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. You've clearly explained what we've envisioned to offer to our guests. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!
Norma & Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaeMak66
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place in Nanaimo”
Reviewed July 13, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed for two days and it was perfect! It was close to the beach, the ferry landing and there are restaurants, grocery stores and everything close.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you Rae. So glad you enjoyed your stay here in Nanaimo.
Norma & Bob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S
Townsville, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great B&B to stay at - close to Nanaimo”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This B&B is about 10 minutes drive from the BCF terminal at Nanaimo when arriving from the mainland Horseshoe Bay.

The B&B is located on the lower level of the host's house and is set up as a self catering apartment with kitchen, bathroom , bedroom, laundry and lounge area . Access is via a private doorway and there is off street parking. This B&B is well suited for a multi-day stay to explore Vancouver Island from . There is more than enough healthy breakfast provisions provided for a several days stay.

The hosts Norma and Bob are friendly and helpful suggesting places to go and see around the island including dining options in nearby Nanaimo.

This was a very comfortable B&B where nothing was overlooked and it was a real pleasure to stay there.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and amenities provided
Liked least: Nothing I was more than satisfied with my stay
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Thank you!
Norma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bev J
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Artful Suite. Very clean amenities, quiet, nice selection Of breakfast provided. All the added extras and the beautiful hand made furniture that you can enjoy. Thank you Bob & Norma for your wonderful hospitality that made our stay so enjoyable.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 30, 2015
Great to have our New Zealand Guests and we were so happy you got to see a bear & cub on your day trip to Tofino too!
Thank you for your kind review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: privacy, location and comfortable bed
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Dec 15, 2014
It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed it-we do hope to see you again soon! Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing