We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travelers have booked this property
the Artful Suite - relax in the unique surroundings of hand made furnishings  and artwork.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the Artful Suite - relax in the unique surroundings of hand made furnishings  and artwork.
Enjoy the great local artwork, that is available should you want a keepsake of your trip Unique hand made furnishing made on site.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
the Artful Suite - relax in the unique surroundings of hand made furnishings  and artwork.
Enjoy the great local artwork, that is available should you want a keepsake of your trip
Unique hand made furnishing made on site.
Private, luxurious surroundings.
Art work in a wide variety of mediums is here for you to enjoy.
All artwork is available should you find something you would like to acquire for your home.
Big Green Tree - original art - we can arrange shipping for you.
Bedroom furnishings - even has a Scallion cap & sweater rack.
Hallway past bedroom to fully appointed kitchen.
Generous kitchen with eating area.
View from kitchen back to the bedroom
enjoy your self catered meals on the maple pastry table with live edge overlays.
Hand made tea pot by talented local artist.
wonderful original artwork through out the suite.  Wavescape a hand carved wall sculpture.
Summer blooms
Our working Studio  Gift/Art Gallery is located on the upper level where we reside as well
5 minute walk to Piper Lagoon Park, an amazing place for a picnic.
A 5 minute walk to the beach for some of the best swimming, diving, hiking, or wind surfing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anna T
Halmstad, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a lovely and relaxing stay at this Artful Suite! It is tastefully decorated and some very nice pieces from local artists are displayed. We also really enjoyed the breakfast with the home-made scones! The suite has a washer and dryer which was convenient for us as we stayed for a longer period. Clean and private. We will definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thoughtful details
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us-we enjoyed having you both and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Norma & Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berdine B
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed for two nights and will definetely return! The place as a whole is very comfortable and stylish, we felt welcome from the minute we checked in. Everything we needed was there - excellent breakfast ingredients, fully equipped kitchen and to top it off a nice laundry space where we could put all our hiking and scuba gear. The decor is simly amazing and the owners are the same!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing we would like to change
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2014
Hi Berdine - Great to hear you trip home went well, & we would love to have you folks back when it suits you.

All the best Norma.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewed November 18, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 4, 2017
Thank you!
Norma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver BC
Reviewed November 5, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy that you were comfortable & appreciate your feedback.We look forward to seeing you again!
Robert & Norma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Reviewed October 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 6, 2013
Julie
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our suite. We are so happy that you chose the Artful Suite and that it worked well for your stay here in Nanaimo.
Norma & Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Koalapurs...
2 reviews
“Beautiful, quiet and central location- everything you would need!”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this new self catering suite and found it to be a very comfortable, clean and impressive with the high quality finish. We were happy with how private and quiet this suite was. I loved the comfy slippers and bath robes! It's excellent value for anyone looking for a cozy getaway in Nanaimo and are looking for something close to the seaside. Piper's Lagoon is only a 5 minute walk away- perfect for a picnic or stroll in the evening. We also found this location to be central to North and South Nanaimo and only minutes away from Departure Bay. Since the suite was so new when we stayed the entire art gallery hadn't made it to the walls and seeing the photos on VRBO I hope we can re-book and enjoy this suite again! I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the art of course, but the slippers were a close second
Liked least: having to leave :(
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send your review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila W
North Battleford, Canada
1 review
“Rare find indeed!!!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

My husband and I were delighted to be the first guests. Attention to the smallest detail was evident in this clean and convenient private suite. We enjoyed the unique aspect of local art and handcrafted furnishings displayed throughout.
Great Location....only a short walk to seaside Piper's Lagoon Park where we experienced spectacular eagle watching and beautiful mountain views.
Our hosts were great and provided answers to any questions we had re: Nanaimo and Vancouver Island. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Suite. We were delighted to have you stay and look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing