We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Browns Socialhouse

Browns Socialhouse
Ranked #38 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Island's favourite new hot spot. Located in North Nanaimo (off the Island Highway in Metral Station) Browns Nanaimo North is the perfect place to socialize with family and friends. Whether you are joining us for a business lunch, an after work cocktail, or watching the game with friends, this is the place to be.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh, nothing special”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Heard such good things about this restaurant and finally went and was a little disappointed.
First off, there's no regular drinks listed on their menu so I had to ask what they had and the waitress started listing off virgin margarita, virgin caesar, etc (they had a liquor ban so she must have assumed I wanted something close to alcohol) but all I wanted to know was what they had for pop and juice. Settled with a shirley temple and it was terrible. No grenadine in it at all and I guess they used real orange juice as there were multiple seeds in the drink; couldn't finish it.
My boyfriend got a burger and fries, which he enjoyed and I tried some of his fries and gravy and they were delicious. I had the chicken tacos and they were just alright, no flavour really. I had a caesar salad with it and that was really good.
But all in all, not a place to rave about.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThatChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback and write a review. We apologize that we didn't blow you away with fresh food and honest service as that is what we strive for.
We appreciate the kind sentiments but we can do better to give you a true Browns experience. Hopefully you and your boyfriend will return to give us another chance.


Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    47
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great food always! Service is great and food is consistent and appealing. Happy this restaurant is here!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ikc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Amazing review!

Thank you for your patronage and for taking time out of your day to give us such a warm review. We are very proud of our food program and we are overjoyed you feel the same.

Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
207 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Nanaimo”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I enjoyed the shrimp tacos. The salsa and guacamole are fresh and wonderful. Most food is made in house and it delicous. The staff are friendly and attentive. Prices are very average, atmosphere is nice. If you want a nice dinner out in Nanaimo this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
Amazing review!

Thank you for your patronage and for taking time out of your day to give us such a warm review. We are very proud of our food program and we are overjoyed you feel the same.

Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant. New to Yorkton”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

There is a good variety on the menu, inexpensive house wines available. Lots of screens showing sports, but not too loud. Service was good, would definitely go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This was my 5th visit to Brown's and we were very happy to be served by Hayley again. She is without doubt one of the best servers anywhere, knowledgeable, pleasant and attractive, the whole package . We enjoyed the food specials of the day that she recommended and really enjoyed our time there. We will return !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank assessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, September 18, 2014
What a fantastic review!

Thank you for your patronage and for taking time out of your day to share your thoughts with the digital world. We look forward to serving you again and please know that this feedback was shared with our entire team and it was a huge boost for Hayley.

Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Socialhouse also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Browns Socialhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing