We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Browns Socialhouse

Browns Socialhouse
Ranked #38 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Island's favourite new hot spot. Located in North Nanaimo (off the Island Highway in Metral Station) Browns Nanaimo North is the perfect place to socialize with family and friends. Whether you are joining us for a business lunch, an after work cocktail, or watching the game with friends, this is the place to be.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The quality and quantity of the meals served in this restaurant is very good as is the ambiance. The staff seem to genuinely care that everyone enjoys their meal, even the Owner comes around to check on patrons.
The only criticism I have is the loudness of the music, but I'm an elderly person(!) whereas the majority of people in the restaurant are of the younger generation and used to lots of noise. That been said, I will still patronize Browns for the value and taste of the food they produce.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kittycat33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so very much for your positive review and patronage to our restaurant. We are overjoyed you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to serving you in the future

Your comment regarding the music is well received and we will be rewiring our sound system soon which will hopefully fix this issue for our patrons. Our music is in the foreground by design but it shouldn't impede on conversation.

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    56
    47
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Younger set”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Went here with group of extended family of various ages. Young loved it, older didn't. Decor is great but it is noisy and we were there Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ludamats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We appreciate your comments and thank you for visiting our Socialhouse. We will be rewiring our sound soon so that we can still have a great atmosphere but it should be over the top which could potentially hurt the guest experience.
Come on back in for some genuine service and great food.

Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Loved everything about this place besides it can be a bit noisy. I've gone there twice and it was excellent. Service was spot on and so was the food. I really like the decor and the semi-outside patio, nice touch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We appreciate your comments and thank you for visiting our Socialhouse. We will be rewiring our sound soon so that we can still have a great atmosphere but it should be over the top which could potentially hurt the guest experience.
Come on back in for some genuine service and great food.

Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“1st Time, really good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

1st visit to Brown's Social House, Nanaimo. Sunday afternoon, really good service. We were greeted by one girl who said she'd be right with us (carrying food out), another girl came up and seated us right away. Our server came over and immediately took our drink order. The drinks came pretty quick, nice Ceasar's on special on Sunday's. We ordered food when the drinks came and it arrived hot, fresh and really good. I had the blackened chicken and cheddar club with salad. My husband had a cheese burger with fries. My club was a whole blackened chicken breast with red pepper relish and cheese and a drippy mess but delicious. I enjoyed it. All around a really good experience. Nice to watch the cooks in the open kitchen, also nice to see one of the cooks asking why the two benny's were still in the window. After that they promptly got to a table. My only comment was I saw a server carrying the pepper mill by tucking it up high near her armpit. I probably wouldn't have noticed it except we had seen a Bar Rescue episode and the staff carried the pepper mills under their arms and it was a big no no according to the main character on the show. Will return, nice ambience and fairly quiet.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karvin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you so much for visiting our Socialhouse. First impressions are so important and we only get one of them so we are thrilled you and your husband had a great meal.
We will certainly address the pepper mill procedure with our serving staff, thank you for your feedback.
Browns has drink and food specials daily so we hope you come in again soon to enjoy!


Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendliest Restaurant attendant Ever!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

This week my partner and I decided to try The Browns Social House....a delightful experience.
Haley, our lovely server made our evening even more special. She made was us feel welcome and gave us good advice concerning the menu. We loved the blueberry and lemon vodka cocktail. My partner had a delicious Kobe beef burger and their fantastic yam fries, and I enjoyed a gluten-free fish dish. Having just moved here from Montreal I felt like I was in a big city with the old fashioned charm that great service offers. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wedding111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamDukoff, Owner at Browns Socialhouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We thank you sincerely for your kind and warm review. Thank you for visiting us and taking time out of your day to share your positive experience with the public. Hayley is one of our very best and is a full time employee here so you will see her smiling face again soon we hope.
As a quick FYI those Blueberry Lemonades are on special every Wednesday!


Kind Regards,

Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Browns Socialhouse also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Browns Socialhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing