We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Top Notch Holiday Accommodation!”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Seaview Beach House, Departure Bay Beach, Nanaimo BC
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seaview Beach House, Departure Bay Beach, Nanaimo BC
Views on both levels and a huge wrap-around deck for entertaining The huge wrap around cedar deck is ideal for entertaining friends & family.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
28 reviews
Seaview Beach House, Departure Bay Beach, Nanaimo BC
Views on both levels and a huge wrap-around deck for entertaining
The huge wrap around cedar deck is ideal for entertaining friends & family.
Private parking for two cars at the end of a quiet laneway.
The large cedar deck for relaxing days on the ocean.
Lots of seating for outside entertaining.
A long swath of beach awaits morning or evening strolls
Watch ferries come and go while eagles soar overhead
Views, views and more views
Winning top spot of the swimming platform in Departure Bay
The large open living room has lots of comfy seating, a wood fireplace and ocean views.
Lots of windows enhance the endless ocean views.
A very comfortable place for a glass of wine and good music.
A large open area kitchen, dining and living room make for convivial living.
A gourmet well-stocked kitchen awaits your culinary talents.
Open living and dining room make this house great for gatherings with family and friends
Get your grill on with a Weber gas BBQ
The master bedroom has wrap around windows, ocean views, private ensuite and a large walk-in closet.
The master bedroom has floor to ceiling windows with endless views
The master ensuite has a one-person soaker tub with views of the ocean.
The master ensuite bathroom has a large walk in tiled shower and a soaker tub
The main floor bedroom has twin beds which can be made up as a king if you chose.
The main level modern bathroom is located across the hall from the bedroom for easy access.
The upper guest bedroom has a queen, lots of closet space and its own bathroom across the hall
The upper level main bathroom was renovated in 2012/1013 and has a large walk-in tiled shower
A large capacity washer and dryer is on site for your use
Cooper the salty sea dog enjoying her time on the ocean at Seaview Beach House.
A quiet contemplative evening on Departure Bay Beach
Sea planes overhead.
We love dogs. Bring your best furry friend so they too may enjoy a holiday
Your private access to Departure Bay Beach is via stairs from your cedar deck.
A BC Ferry coming into Departure Bay passes a cargo ship awaiting mooring in Vancouver
Sunrise on Departure Bay
The Coastal Mountain range on the mainland of BC can be seen from Seaview Beach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Debbie W
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch Holiday Accommodation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We had the pleasure of staying at Seaview Beach House for 2 weeks, this summer (2013). We wanted a place to celebrate a special occasion, and enjoy a much needed vacation with our 4 kids and dogs (YES it's dog friendly!!!). We absolutely loved our stay in this amazing home, on the ocean. Seaview has every amenity, and a few luxuries, to ensure a relaxing stay. The attention to detail, the care, and the expertise, put into this classy, and very comfortable home, were evident from the start. Booking and contracts were accurate, professional, and worry free. The house was spotless when we arrived, and the property is consistently well maintained. Staying at Seaview would be spectacular at any time of year.
Seaview provides many family and outdoor activities - walking and exploring the beach; kayaking; fishing; swimming, etc. Several activities, stores, and places of interest, are close by and all detailed in a binder in the kitchen.
We are all looking forward to returning next summer, and for years to come!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Most relaxing and stress free vacation ever!
Liked least: Leaving...
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colleen h
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular Home Away From Home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Amazingly Exquisite Views and a True Home Away from Home!!!
My husband and I, with our two children and two dogs were delighted to have taken time out to kick off our summer at this beach house on Departure Bay! We were all more than welcome! This child friendly and pet friendly home really is a 5 star in our books as sometimes when a child friendly and pet friendly place is offered, the accommodations aren't anything to boast about. This is the exception to the rule!!
The house is close to amenities and comes complete with all the information you need about the area to make your stay easy and fun on every level.
The attention to detail by the owner is like nothing I have every experienced! She has set the bar very high in our families view!
We will be back, we are really looking forward to booking our next stay! Better hurry and book yours as this beauty books up quickly!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: It was turn key, when on vacation you want it easy and simple and it sure was!
Liked least: I am hard pressed to find anything...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
das1349
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
“What a GREAT experience!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

When you are looking for a relaxing vacation that says "Forget about it! Don't worry about it!" 1300 Seaview Place is it. We had the pleasure of staying at Sue's Departure Bay home for two weeks in May. Our visit exceeded all our expectations. The floor to ceiling walls of glass facing the waters on both levels, provided breath taking views all day. The sound of the waves on the beach lulled us to sleep at night. Sue thinks of everything and this very large house is equipped with all the items you will need for a truly wonderful vacation. The spacious kitchen has every possible tool for preparing meals. Sue even provided items we don't have in our own home. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and luxuriously appointed. The spa bath tub in the master suite was my wife's favourite! Early evenings were spent relaxing on the expansive deck with our glass of wine, watching the ferry boats and sea plane traffic. Sue left many very helpful suggestions for shopping and restaurant meals and shared a lovely welcoming treat of gourmet jam and artisan bread on arrival. Sue provides a great reference binder of reminders about the house amenities and has a wonderful library of maps and tour/information guides to assist with your sightseeing plans.The home is central to many special sights and as we toured the Island from end to end, Sue's place truly felt like "coming home" at the end of the day. We travelled with our little dog, and Sue provided a wonderful bed and other "home away from home" special items for him as well. We feel very fortunate to have found this wonderful home and would recommend it to anyone wanting to experience the Vancouver Island. Thank you Sue for your special hostessing skills and for sharing 1300 Seaview Place with us. We hope to see you again.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Liked least: I cannot think of one single item
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diane1992
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at this lovely home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

My family had the opportunity to stay at this lovely home while attending a volleyball tournament in Nanaimo. We decided to bring the dogs and have a little vacation at the same time. We prefer to rent houses when we vacation and have experienced many vacation rentals over the years. I have to say that Su and her beautiful beach home provided one of the very best holidays we have had. The house is spotlessly clean with recent renovations throughout the home. Everything looks fresh and new from the carpets to the bedrooms to the furniture. Su is a very thoughtful host, everything one could think of needing is at hand; fully equipped kitchen, luxurious bedding. The dogs thought they were in heaven! Su provided new plush dog beds, dog bowels and excellent directions to amazing hiking trails just up the road. Of course they had the beach right out the door and when they were too tired from all the hiking and beach walking they spent their days sitting on the deck watching the seagulls and Canada Geese swoop up and down the beach. The fully fenced yard was such a help with dogs and would be for younger children as well. We were all sorry to leave and we will definately try to rebook again for a longer stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Beautiful view, spotlessly clean, lovely new renovations
Liked least: Everything was great. You do need a car I think for travel around Nanaimo
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KikiSchmi...
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Myself, my 2 year old twin boys, and my parents enjoyed a 5 night stay at the beach house. The location, views and cleanliness are hard to beat! The house was perfect for my little guys with the large enclosed deck, water just a few feet away and a play park right next door. It was very close to amenities - restaurants and grocery stores and it was very convenient being so close to the ferry terminal. The island highway is just minutes from the house which makes access anywhere very easy. However, the house was so beautiful, we could have just stayed put the entire time. I would 100% recommend this beach house to anyone - families, retirees, and couples alike. Su, the property manager, was more than accommodating and so very pleasant to deal with. We will most definitely be back for a stay in the beach house!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and house itself.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyMichel...
Golden, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent--My go to place in Nanaimo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This house is beautiful I had the best sleep ever listening to the waves. The kitchen is well stocked with all utensils and appliances one can wish for. Excellent wifi and tv channel choices. My kids loved having the beach there.. we went crabbing lots and had lots of fun cooking up those crabs. I have friends and family that live in Nanaimo so it was nice to cook for them and visit. This is the second time I have been there and I see they have done some great reno's .. Love it! Can't go wrong and Su was always available if you had questions..this is my go to place can't wait to go back

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: the best sleep I have had in months
Liked least: unfortunately the hot tub had been taken out since our last visit but I totally understand and the master bathroom makes up for it anyway
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most fabulous house I've ever had the pleasure to vacation in!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

I found this rental home online, and have been raving about it ever since. It is right on Departure Bay and you get to see the ferries come and go all day! Added to the fabulous vista and the immediate access to the beach, was the immaculately kept house. Well designed, up-to-date renovations, and very well organized from start to finish. There were signs for everything and a binder to help out when I had any questions. And when the binder didn't answer a question, I simply texted the individual I'd been dealing with and she texted right back. I stayed for a week with my husband and his brothers and sister-in-law, along with a friend of mine, while we were looking for a house to buy in Nanaimo. If I could've, I would've bought this place! I can't say enough about it - I recommend it to everyone!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2013
Michelle, Thank you so very much for your kind words. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests, including your 7 pound ferocious guard dog Maggie. As a fellow foodie, it was fun to text back and forth with restaurant recommendations. Best news of all was that you and Scott have found a home in Nanaimo, and when the times comes, you will call our fair city home. We hope to be able to host you again in the very near future, especially now that West Jet will be offering daily non-stop service between Calgary & Nanaimo. Cheers, Su G.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing