We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Good place to visit

Pipers Lagoon has an amazing variety of things to see - ocean beach, tidal lagoon, rocks to climb... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
clifforda530
,
Abbotsford, Canada
beautiful area

So enjoyed this beach. The driftwood; the rocks; the views; all were wonderful. Was able to also... read more

Reviewed September 30, 2018
Cindi C
Read all 277 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Nanaimo
from $468.80
More Info
from $85.17
More Info
from $158.00
More Info
Tofino ATV Tour
4 Reviews
from $809.50
More Info
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
181
72
15
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
72
15
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low tide garry oak rocky hill watch the ferries gravel beach short hike picnic tables beautiful spot nice beach leisurely walk great place to go natural beauty salish sea beautiful walk walking trails sunny day british columbia
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 268 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

Pipers Lagoon has an amazing variety of things to see - ocean beach, tidal lagoon, rocks to climb (on trails).

Thank clifforda530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2018

So enjoyed this beach. The driftwood; the rocks; the views; all were wonderful. Was able to also get some great pics of birds!

Thank Cindi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2018

Pipers has been one of my favorite destinations to while away a few hours since first visiting the park 20 some years ago. I go two or three times a month with my camera. The photo opportunities are fantastic.

The large muddy salt flat that fills with water each day attracts local birds as well as migrants. The regulars are chickadees, towhees, humming birds, eagles, oyster catchers, gulls, sparrows, flickers, creepers, sandpipers, ravens, and crows. Lots of passing water fowl stop here during migration including the Mountain Bluebird. I also often see sea lions and seals. There is a new population of eastern cottontails who are very cute but are also digging up and eating the bulbs of some of the Gary Oak forest flowers. In the spring I photograph the fawn, camus, and chocolate lilies.

Very good sunrise opportunities with the ferries going past and often freighters nodding on the bay. Sunset is a little more challenging but I've had some nice shots of Neck Point and Shack Island during the golden hour.

I actually like the wild un-amended quality of the park, the dangerous rocky paths, and inaccessibility. I'm finding the park has very heavy pressure during the warmer months and I think some habitat protection in the form of fences similiar to at some other regional parks is much needed. Otherwise the unique Gary Oak habitat that is part of the appeal will be severely diminished.

Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Pipers Lagoon Park is by far my favourite outdoor park destination in the Nanaimo region. It is the most beautiful outdoor spot where I love to do nature and landscape photography, with the best layout and features of any waterfront park I've seen yet. There is a lovely causeway that takes you out to the main body of the park. The beach along this causeway has many attractive spots that are perfect for practising landscape and nature portraiture. There is plenty of parking. Many people walk their dogs along the causeway. It is minutes away from the equally lovely Neck Point Park.

Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Launch your SUP/kayak, take a chilly swim, or hike the rocky coast along beaches and through a little forest. We found this to be a great little park to enjoy without traveling far from our place in Nanaimo.

Thank MIOWSHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2018

This is a beautiful walk with the Salish Sea on one side of the peninsula and Pipers Lagoon on the other. There is, however, a large rocky mound between the walkway and the point of the peninsula. When the tide is low, no problem. You can easily walk around it. But then the tide is high, you have to climb a steep, 15-foot craggy cliff. There are no wooden stairs or footholds cut into the rock. This makes it virtually impassable for the elderly, disabled and very young children. They really should make sure the entire park is accessible by everyone at all times. It is a stunning walk that should be enjoyed by all.

Thank Lex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

Nice park for a short walk. It takes a hour or so. Exactly you can walk/clim everywhere you want. The trails are not very pointed out. Nice views from the top of the rocks.
I’ve you stay off the rocks, you can walk the lagoon on flip flops. If you decide to walk up the sharp rocks, bring out good shoes.

Free parking - free entrance

Thank Martijn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Pipers Lagoon Park is an easy 10 minute drive north of downtown Nanaimo. Spend the whole day swimming and tanning, or just go for an hours hike around the lagoon and rocks exploring. There are lots of plants and sea life to be found.

Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

Piper's Lagoon Park in Nanaimo scenic British Columbia was mentioned to us for wildlife spotting. It is located with te Ocean on one side and a pebbly beach great for whale spotting.

Thank chickandbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Pipers Park is an easy walk along the ocean on one side and the lagoon on the other.
The lagoon tidal basin overlooks Shack island, a storybook filled with the history of early coal mining days. and the miners accommodation. The ocean side views the lighthouse and ferry traffic, not to mention all the sailboats and fishing boats and adventure on the high seas. The walk is easy, relaxed and has numerous benches if you need a rest on your way.

Thank 193krisj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews