We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and reasonable price!”

Montana's BBQ & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Montana's BBQ & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #75 of 321 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Montana’s is all things BBQ to all people. Whether you’re in the mood for southern style in-house smoked ribs and pulled pork or looking for some Canadian BBQ flavour across our burgers, steaks and sandwiches; Montana’s has the perfect atmosphere to bring the family or meet up with friends. Fire up the good times at Montana’s BBQ & Bar!
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I go to Montana's cookhouse quite often. I like the "log house" atmosphere and I love their ribs. I used to order the salmon, which is quite good, but ever since trying the ribs, it's been hard to order anything else! My husband always orders a burger. The last time he ordered the Chipotle Firecracker Burger, and they were very accommodating when he requested chicken instead of beef - and he said it was one of the best burgers he's ever had! The staff are also nice and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheKorrabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    47
    15
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Best Chipolte burger i have ever had in my life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I loved Montannas, very friendly staff, great food, nice to sit in the bar part and relax and have a meal, Great ribs

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shipmates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, BC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good lunch meal at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Its getting more difficult to find a good lunch at lunch prices which means to us around $10 a plate.
Its not our main meal, so why pay dinner pricing.
Montanas had a lunch trio of choice of salad, soup and half club or sub at this price.
The Caesar salad and chicken soup were great and the BBQ brisket sub was delicious.
Portions were adequate and added up to a great reasonably priced lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diabow_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
“A Disappointing Lunch Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have enjoyed Montana's several times over the last 10 years, usually choosing their roast chicken dinner. This time however, we decided on different choices for lunch. When we arrived at 1:00, we waited about 5 minutes to be greeted and seated, the restaurant was about three quarters full. Once seated, a friendly waitress took our beverage and lunch order. It took about 5 minutes to receive our tea and Pepsi. It was 1:45 and we still had not received our simple orders. The manager on duty got involved and resolved the situation, professionally and to our satisfaction, however the waitress delivered our food without cutlery which delayed us even more.

My wife had ordered their soup, salad and half club luncheon special. She found the soup very salty and the Caesar dressing unappetizing. I had the pulled pork sandwich which was underwhelming, in my opinion. The portions were however, quite generous.

The music being played was totally inappropriate for the style of the restaurant or the average patron dining there. It was clearly being played to entertain the young staff members. If we return, we will stick to the chicken dinners.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent food and prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The food here is pretty good and the prices are reasonable. The beer selection is a bit lacking but over-all if you are looking for a good meal Montana's will do just fine.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bcbusinesstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montana's BBQ & Bar also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Montana's BBQ & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing