We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anywhere but here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbour Light Motel

Harbour Light Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour Light Motel
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anywhere but here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Check in went well, room was dated but clean. I noted a coffee maker, filters, and cups...but no coffee?? Inquired at the front desk and was told I could purchase coffee at the local market. First time toilet was utilized it backed up and flooded. I spoke to the front desk clerk and she said someone would be coming to our room to take care of the problem. Over an hour later she showed up with some towels for US to dry the overflowed toilet water with. The toilet was still backed up at this point and this was pointed out to her. Her "solution" was to bring me a plunger!
Glad we only used this place as a stop over while en route to Campbell River. NEVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
32
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
388 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This motel is just a few kilometers away from both ferry terminals,which makes it a useful choice, if you have to catch an early ferry. The beds are comfortable,the rooms are clean, check-in is professional. The rooms are comfortably equipped(fridge and microwave and a coffee maker.
We hoped for a room away from the highway, but were told that they don't have that,which sounds like all the rooms are in the front ,right next to the main thoroughfare. This makes for a noisy location.Mercifully the road noise subsides after midnight!On a warm day, if you need air conditioning, the air conditioning unit has the sound quality of a compressor- not great for an attempt of falling asleep.(We switched it off! Earplugs may be another solution .)There is a coupon of10 % off at the MGM Restaurant next door for motel guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlotteKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here off an on for a month while working in Nanaimo.

The rooms we stayed in were all clean - although by far not as modern as they could be - if you're looking for luxury don't stay here :) The furnishings in the rooms are all random - some could be 30+ years old.... The beds are super comfy (comfier than our bed at home in fact!)

The manager/owner was pleasant to deal with - she remembered my name from the second time we met until we left at the end of the month, and made us feel taken-care of.

We had two issues while we were there - one time the check-in date was wrong (they assumed responsibility but I also acknowledge that it could have been my error too), they gave us a further discount on our low rate as we had to stay in a smoking room that night. The last few nights we were there our regular rate wasn't honored because of a misunderstanding, we did negotiate a rate higher than what we agreed on, but manageable.

If we end up in the area for work again we plan on staying there again.

Room Tip: When we stayed at the back of the hotel we noticed some smoke smell from other rooms coming through...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hardy, BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stay here often, very convenient to downtown, staff always goes the extra mile for guests and rooms are very clean and comfortable.
Lots of new beds, pillows and TV's over the last year. Rooms all have mini fridge and microwave.

Very pet friendly and we always feel safe and secure.

Room Tip: Nice views from front rooms....rooms at the back are very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krisPortHardy_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I am traveling with my cat and was just here overnight and going to catch the ferry in the morning. Was afraid I would not be able to find somewhere that was pet friendly. The guy was so nice and accommodating giving me a room on the first floor close to the front desk. The room is clean and bed is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyndy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
149 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Friendly check in and reasonable rates make the Harbour Light a decent place to stay. This 2.5 star motel is clean but the room and furnishings are a little dated. I haven't seen a 19" crt TV in a long time.

Bedding was adequate and the bed somewhat comfortable. there was a small fridge and microwave in the room. No coffee maker and an old computer desk.

The bath curtain was a little sketchy.

The MGM restaurant next door is good and you get a 10% discount for staying at the motel. I asked at the MGM to borrow a wine glass (styrofoam cups in the room) and they happily ablidged.

Overall, I would stay here again in a pinch.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the back to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rockin_RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were last minute guests at this hotel, as there was a festival happening in town. The front desk clerk was great and friendly. The room was very simple but clean, clean, clean! The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Our room had a mini fridge and a flat screen tv. All in all a great room for less than $90 in peak season during a busy weekend. Would definitely stay here again if in town. If you are looking for luxury look elsewhere, if you want a clean place with excellent value, this is it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caperheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.6 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
0.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#7 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
1.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Light Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Light Motel

Property: Harbour Light Motel
Address: 200 Nicol St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 4T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbour Light Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and HRS so you can book your Harbour Light Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing