We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic inexpensive delicious”
Review of Sushi Eh - CLOSED

Sushi Eh
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sushi Eh Japanese Restaurant is the newest and the best Japanese cuisine on the Island, located at the Hammond Bay Plaza in Nanaimo, B.C. The store is managed and operated by Xiaoyun (Helen) Liu recently moved to Nanaimo from Beijing, China. Come in and enjoy the authentic taste and quality of Japanese food. Our servers are delighted to welcome and serve you, your family and friends. Our maximum seating capacity is up to 70 guests. Our lunch specials are a great value deal, which gives you a great chance to try our delicious assortment of Japanese food. We offer not only the best dine-in experience, but we also provide take out service as well. Come and visit us now!
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic inexpensive delicious”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This little restaurant is one of our favorites. It is located behind the Shell station and Pizza hut in North Nanaimo, next to the Brick furniture store. I like the simple ambiance with curtained areas for privacy with large groups. The great value menu for lunch and late night dining give you an chance to sample many different Japanese foods. Everything is great!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sneuneymeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    7
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Trail, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“We came we left”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We tried this place. It was dark and empty. I looked at the dirt on the floor and decided not to eat raw fish here. It amazes me how people will eat uncooked food in a dirty place. Its next to a cat hospital, but that could be a coincidence. There is much better in Nanaimo.

Helpful?
Thank Globehopperdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new westminster
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“ok experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Fish quality of the sashimi was good and the tempura yam was nice and light. There is very little food in there and most of them are COLD. But for the reasonable price, still worth to try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jack m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I see some of the other reviews are quite poor. We went for lunch and had a bento and an a la carte. Service was slow and hot items were only lukewarm. Everything tasted alright but nothing special. The place was close to empty at 1230 on a weekday. Maybe that should have been a hint. I would go again but would insist on "hot" food this time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ndngurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NANAIMO
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“all u dont want to eat buffet”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

buffet lacks variety quality and replenishing often dried out and always the same small variety grouchy lookin sushi chef and cheaply done sushi well on buffet anyways
I guess u get what u pay for 11.99

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NANAIMOFOODLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Eh also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing