We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel bed ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Ranked #12 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The front desk and the restaurant staff were professional and efficient. The rooms were nice and cozy, not to mention quiet, with good toiletries stocked in the bathroom. The best part was the bed and pillows. By far the nicest and most comfortable ones I've had in a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 179 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

On May 1, 2013, we went with friends to celebrate their 43rd. anniversary. The table was looking out on the rock quarry. It was decorated with 5 candles & real flowers. Their children had sent them a huge bouquet of flowers which was waiting for them on a side table. They were then summoned to the telephone to receive a call from a sister from Australia. We started our dinner with a beautiful glass of champagne with a strawberry on the rim. We all had appetizers. I would recommend the mussels or the clam lollipops. For the main course, 3 of us had the veal scallopini & one had a seafood pasta. All were excellent. Service was excellent & it was quiet, no loud music. We will definitely be back. We live here in Nanaimo, so did not use the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank j-mwaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed our stay and especially the comfortable beds. We found it unusual that we only got 1 towel each for the 2 of us. Also there were no portable luggage racks only one built in the closet. Location is nice and quiet especially if you are on the back side of the hotel. The staff were polite and helpful. You do have to pay $6 per day for each wifi device.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VE7CKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we walked in great friendly service. Easy quick no hassle check in. Like that there was on site restaurant. Also near large shopping mall. Even near by walking distance to a lake. Very quiet room :)

Room Tip: Ask if there is a chance for free up grade.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mspippy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We dined for lunch there yesterday and what an amazing restaurant. We were visiting from Alberta and not staying at the hotel but I went for lunch with a business associate and it was his first experience at this Hotel's restaurant. The hotel itself is a boutique style property which is located in North Nanaimo, off the beat and track, but very close to every amenity one would look for. The restaurant overlooks what appears to be a rock quarry with beautiful and private grounds and the interior is very well appointed and spacious. We both ordered one of their daily specials and the ooh's and ah's from both of us must have been disturbing to other patrons. The food was impeccable and so was the service. Speaking with the very proficient waiter, I understand dinner is a special treat and I'll look forward to visiting this place next time I'm back in Nanaimo. It's a real treat.

Room Tip: Sorry but as I outlined in my review, I did not stay at this property - just dined there.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at this special boutique style hotel, hidden away in North Nanaimo. Aside from the warm greeting and excellent customer service from the moment we entered the lobby, the hotel is special in many other ways ... fabulous lounge featuring a scotch whisky bar unmatched anywhere on Vancouver Island, an indoor pool and a wonderful gift shop with some very special, unique goods. We enjoyed afternoon tea in their dining room and had a wonderful dinner experience too - compliments to the Chef! Our room was clean and fresh and very comfortable. Best kept secret in Nanaimo! Cheers to the team at the Grand and thank you for making our stay so special. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would like to spotlight The Grand Hotel in Nanaimo on Vancouver Island. This hotel is unique in many ways with its special teas, planned events, etc. Something relatively new is its gift shop called "The Pink Lollipop".

I visited this gift shop a few weeks ago. It had a truly wonderful & magical air featuring both local & global jewelery in addition to other giftware - some very unusual - all well made & extremely well presented.

Kudos to the owners/managers of The Grand Hotel for their continued efforts to provide hotel guests & visitors with such diverse options in addition to great cuisine, service and accommodation!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,469 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.3 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
4.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel Nanaimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel Nanaimo

Address: 4898 Rutherford Rd, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 4Z4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $113 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel Nanaimo 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel Nanaimo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Nanaimo
Nanaimo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing