We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget bargain”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed overnight after an afternoon ferry trip from Vancouver. It is definitely a budget motel on a main road but it is close to the ferry and walking distance to downtown Nanaimo - we strolled along the foreshore. The room was small with 2 double beds but clean and neat and the beds were comfortable. We had a room on the second level overlooking the back garden so had minimum road noise. For the price it was a bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Colonial Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 49 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2012

We were met by 'Yan" who booked us in -- she was lovely and very helpful giving us advice on the catching the ferry and other touristy questions.
The property is located on a busy road so she gave us an upstairs room which has a corridor giving a buffer to the road noise. (as it turned out if was very quiet)
The rooms are well maintained and tastefully decorated with prints nice lamp shades etc that make the room a pleasure to stay in.
We had two double beds which were very comfortable as were the pillows - even had a doona/duvet. Sheets etc were spotlessly clean and good quality (Egyptian cotton)
Bathroom was spotlessly clean if a little small - not a a lot of bench space around the hand basin.
The rooom has a large window with a nice outlook over trees and bush.
Room is equipped with frig, microwave and TV.
There is a mall nearby with fast foods, asian restaurant and general restaurant.
All in all a lovely property the only complaint being the room is a little on the small side compared to other motels we have stayed in.
Yan's husband offered to help us carry our bags up to our room which was very helpful

Room Tip: Upstairs rooom would be more insulated from road noise than downstairs rooms. Downstairs rooms have...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MicknOlga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I chose it based on all the reviews I read.It was very easy to find.The lady that greeted me was warm and personable. She advised that the window would be open when we got into the room, so it might be a little chilly. We had a room at the back,overlooking a charming back yard with trees. It was quiet, and we did not hear any traffic noise.The room had two queen size beds, and the mattresses were very comfy.Of course the room was a little dated - so what. I have rooms at home that are a little dated. I have stayed in high end hotels where the mattresses were harder and less comfortable. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. There was a small fridge, coffee maker, t.v. and A.C. for if the weather ever gets hot. My daughter and I had a great sleep, and left early in the morning for her softball game, dropping the keys off in the mailbox. For the purpose of having to be somewhere early the next day, it fit the bill perfectly.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are probably the quietest, although that part of town seemed pretty quiet late at...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

The couples from china are the owner of the motel. Wrong information of routes that caused me so much of inconvenience. The whole stretch of corridor is smelly, old. I doubt the bed sheet is wash properly. The bath tub is super noisy like helicopter and your movement will be track anytime of your depart/return. When u request not to clear the room, they will still come in with their keys to off the lights/aircon. I will never return back there again. Bad experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchi, Manager at Colonial Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

We carefully checked our booking system, customer list, customer registration records and complain records during the period of April 2012, there is no customer matching the name "Kim S" which you used for the review. So we hope you can provide more details about your stay, such as the dates you stay, the room number, and your real name when registered in the hotel, etc. if you can not, we really doubt your identity and purpose of this review.
We look forward to hearing more details about this case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed here in May, 2012 for just one night. I chose it because of the price, and it was certainly "adequate." It was clean, though dated, and the managers were pleasant. There is nothing whatsoever special about the motel; it reminds me of a small town motel back in the 70s or 80s. No breakfast was included, and I suspect that for a few dollars more I could have stayed in a more recently renovated place that would have included breakfast and a bit more "shine." Nonetheless, if I were to return to Nanaimo and this were the only place, I would be happy to stay there again. Nanaimo is an interesting town, and worth visiting. The Colonial is fine, but surely nothing special.

Room Tip: It is a multi-story motel and the ground floor rooms cost more, so if you need ground floor they may...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TourProDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Colonial for four nights as we considered moving to the lovely city of Nanaimo. Hesitant at first, as its the tiniest motel we'd ever encountered, we were immediately pleased. As others have written, our room was spotlessly clean and the pleasant owners made us feel welcome. They strike the right balance between ensuring you have what you need and leaving you to your privacy.
We need a kitchenette due to dietary concerns, and with a hot plate, microwave, sink and plates, forks etc, it fit our needs. With local grocery store and other amenities just a block away, the location was also very convenient. We ended up walking most places and only rented a car for one day!
It's not a luxury hotel, but it is a great option for those on a budget or those who require a kitchenette. We will be staying at the Colonial again in May!

Room Tip: The lower units have a sliding door to a small deck, which would be lovely in the summer months!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephanieClark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The owners of this small motel were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rate was most reasonable and the room was spotlessly clean. It's well equipped with small frig. and microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, TV, and other amenities. The back rooms on the upper floor face a small garden and trees, and are quieter. I'm a light sleeper and was able to sleep well. The location is convenient for ferry, downtown and shopping malls. It was just what we were looking for - excellent value at modest cost. We didn't need luxuries and a larger motel for one night. We would recommend it, and stay there again.
Jane V-H, London, Ontario.

Room Tip: Deluxe room 203 is especially quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,468 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
300 reviews
5.5 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Nanaimo
Travelodge Nanaimo
#7 of 18 in Nanaimo
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 950 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range: $68 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, comfortable and affordable motel is located in a walking distance from Terminal Park Shopping Plaza and the Sea walk trail; and only few minutes' drive from Downtown Nanaimo and the Nanaimo Golf Club. We have been fully upgraded in 2005. High quality Sealy Posturpedic king and queen sized beds in all rooms. Acrylic one piece Tub/Shower Surrounds. All rooms come with fridges, microwaves, hairdryer and kettles. Non-smoking property. Cable TV with full cable. Wireless telephones with voicemail. Free high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Nanaimo
Colonial Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing