We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly service”
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colonial Motel
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
London, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent value and friendly service”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The owners of this small motel were very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rate was most reasonable and the room was spotlessly clean. It's well equipped with small frig. and microwave, free high-speed wireless internet, TV, and other amenities. The back rooms on the upper floor face a small garden and trees, and are quieter. I'm a light sleeper and was able to sleep well. The location is convenient for ferry, downtown and shopping malls. It was just what we were looking for - excellent value at modest cost. We didn't need luxuries and a larger motel for one night. We would recommend it, and stay there again.
Jane V-H, London, Ontario.

Room Tip: Deluxe room 203 is especially quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    13
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
7
21
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
fort mcmurray
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying here on a business trip. The rooms were clean, but the real
attraction was the level of service. The owners go out of their way to make you feel welcome.
Friendly smiles, attention to detail, simply better than most. The building is smaller than nearby motels, but do not let that stop you from staying there.
I will be staying there again, on my6 next trip to Nanaimo.

Gary W.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garywFortMcmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

We had a nice stay at the Colonial the rate was low, service friendly, beds comfy. All amenities were provided and the lady at the front desk was super friendly and helpful. The water pressure in the shower could be better but that is hardly anything to complain about. Its a lovely 20 minute stroll down the sea wall to the town and easy to access from ferry and even easier to take off to Tofino!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CandyGnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

If you need a 50 (52) dollar room that is actually a 50 dollar room this is your place. I went to 3 other hotels in the area that advertised this price, once I got in, they said it was a seniors rate. The staff has been extremely courteous, the place is always clean, its cheap. Its a busy street, but it is quiet enough for me. If the area is bad I haven't noticed yet. If you need a room for the night and nothing more, this is your place. I gave it a 5 out of 5 for the value, it is just a basic room with 2 beds, a tv, desk microwave, fridge and so on. Location I gave a 3 because it is on a busy road, but it seems like the mojority are on busy roads here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

A few friends and I had just finished the West Coast Trail and had made our way to Nanaimo for our flight back to Calgary. We had a couple of days in Nanaimo and had booked this place online. BAD IDEA! This place was a dump, in a very sketchy area of town AND had the worst customer service ever. I have been on some pretty low budget trips and have stayed in some pretty bad hostels that were nicer and way cleaner than this place. At least in a hostel you get friendly people serving you at the desk. The manager at the Colonial was so rude! When we called to complain about the cleanliness of our room (it smelled like mildew and the room had clearly not been cleaned - the only thing it seemed the cleaning staff did was make the bed) she actually HUNG UP on us! When we called again another gentleman answered the phone and told us the manager had just stepped out even though we could hear her telling him what to say in the background. I have no idea how someone so immature could be given the responsibility of managing a hotel. I NEVER stay in this place again and I would strongly urge anyone else to steer way clear of this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hiker019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchiNanaimo, Owner at Colonial Motel, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
Thanks for your common. Manager can't recall your case. Please summit your proof of stay. If you did find we miss some spot in our room. Please accept our apology. I understand your anger, you should ask for refund. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I stayed there in route to Tofino we got a room at upper level. Nothing fancy about it but if you are booking this low budget motel you don’t expect too much either. The room was clean but this little motel is situated right trough main Street so is quite noisy. Probably it is in very bad area too otherwise cannot explain why the entrance door to the motel is always locked, and also seen some quite a bunch of druggies or drunk people on the sidewalk It was Ok but I rather pay more to stay in a better place next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gigiduru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

great service and unbeatable prices! we will only be staying here in the future!!!
clean and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldoherty3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
1.2 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
1.7 mi away
Harbour Light Motel
Harbour Light Motel
#9 of 19 in Nanaimo
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Motel
Port-O-Call Motel
#12 of 19 in Nanaimo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Property: Colonial Motel
Address: 950 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9S 4K4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our friendly, comfortable and affordable motel is located in a walking distance from Terminal Park Shopping Plaza and the Sea walk trail; and only few minutes' drive from Downtown Nanaimo and the Nanaimo Golf Club. We have been fully upgraded in 2005. High quality Sealy Posturpedic king and queen sized beds in all rooms. Acrylic one piece Tub/Shower Surrounds. All rooms come with fridges, microwaves, hairdryer and kettles. Non-smoking property. Cable TV with full cable. Wireless telephones with voicemail. Free high-speed wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Motel Nanaimo
Colonial Hotel Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing