We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nanaimo Favorite”
Review of Bistro at Westwood Lake - CLOSED

Bistro at Westwood Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Nanaimo Favorite”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The food at the Westwood Bistro is all made from scratch, the vegetables are chosen daily so they change with the seasons, the deserts are to die for especially the homemade gelato!The atmosphere is quaint, romantic and always has very friendly service. They have a great wine selection and you can bring in your own wine you will pay a corkage fee. An overall amazing place - highly recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovestobooktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    72
    20
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic restaurant in Nanaimo”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I went to this restaurant with my family after seeing it was number 1 on the Trip Advisor site - and I wasn't disappointed. Everyone in the group was extremely impressed with the meal and setting. It's a little hard to find, but worth the trip (even when you find the location, it's hard to find the entrance - go left down a little path and keep going past the tennis shop). I would recommend this highly. We had the three course meal for $28 and it was delicious (and inexpensive). The setting is lovely - the décor is plain but very atmospheric, and there's a good vibe in the restaurant, of people enjoying food and each other's company. It's fairly small but this adds to the intimate feel. I would recommend this as a lovely place to eat in Nanaimo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
1 review
“Our Wedding Anniversary Special”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were very pleased with the total experience from the view, to the decor, to the food, the service and the value.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garnet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food in Nanaimo”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Food and service excellent two of three visits. On third visit, service excellent, but food only very good as it arrived not as hot as it should have been.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Second visit just as good as the first”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Comment from our daughter joining us from Vancouver '' that's the best stuffed chicken breast I have ever eaten'' In our opinion the restaurant deserves the accolades it has received and, no doubt, would figure very highly in cities far larger than Nanaimo. The menu is short but the food is all the better for that. Arctic char and ling cod were delicious. For the experience the prices were also reasonable with a 3 course offering under $30.00 and the service was very good.We shall definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11Tim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at Westwood Lake also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing