We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bad Day at the Bistro”
Review of Bistro at Westwood Lake - CLOSED

Bistro at Westwood Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We were a mid week table of five adults for lunch....the setting was lovely with outdoor seating and a lake view. The menu choices were small but this was expanded by a number of daily specials and my husband ordered the 'daily special' Quiche. After a few minutes the waiter came back and said that the mushrooms on the Mushroom Quiche would be replaced with potatoes....odd, but he was willing to go with the flow. Our meals arrived and the Quiche was completely charcoal on the bottom, the wait staff was great and immediately pulled the plate. After a 15 minute wait the replacement Quiche arrived but by that time the rest of us had finished our meal, so our lone diner began his meal. Unbelievably, this time the Quiche was cold in the middle as it had obviously been pulled from the freezer (still no mushrooms!).... The other four entrees were fine if not stellar, lovely plating though! We all opted for dessert and again 4 out of 5 were fine, but our waiter brought walnut cake instead of creme brulee for my son. Another lengthy wait and the creme brulee arrived in a very deep dish only half full, it also had an extremely thick sugar crust which was over caramelized to the point of burnt. The 1/4 cup of custard under the sugar was tasty but not worth the effort to dig out. We did not complain about our meal, but it must have been obvious to management that we didn't have a good experience as they gifted us with a 'lunch for two certificate'. The wait staff is great, but it was surely an off day for the cook and I'm not sure that we will be back for the free meal...it really was that dissapointing!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
8  Thank Comoxfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaetan b, Owner at Bistro at Westwood Lake, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thank you for your comments. In our effort to correct the first mistake, we did not allow enough time for the Quiche to heat thoroughly. And for that we are sorry. We should mention that our Quiche was not frozen, we bake them daily. As you mentioned yourself, we are pleased that the rest of your party enjoyed their lunch, the view and the service. As you know, the Quiche and the Dessert were not added to your bill. We are hoping that you will come and see us again with your lunch for two certificate that we gave you that day. However, if you cannot overcome your huge disappointment over the Quiche, please do not discard the gift certificate and may we suggest donating it to a charitable organization for a fundraising purpose.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 405 of 419 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tried the Bistro at Westwood Lake for the first time last night and what an absolute treasure. The restaurant is small and tastefully decorated with a lovely view of Westwood Lake. The staff was friendly and welcoming and the service was top notch. The food was amazing, and though the portion sizes were perfect, your mouth was left wanting more. We were there with another couple, two of us ordered the 3 course menu special consisting of a perfectly flavoured curry scented zucchini soup, an amazing walnut crusted ling cod with sauteed spaetzle, and a 'to die for' dark chocolate buttermilk panna cotta. The other guests ordered off the regular menu and apparently the mussels in the curry and anise cream were incredible commenting that they would even be happy with just the bowl of the cream, it was so delicious. They also had the arctic char with the creamy English pea risotto, both of which were perfectly prepared. We were so delighted with this restaurant that we will definitely be returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank laddieBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Bistro at Westwood Lake offers great food, superb service and a stunning setting. My wife, our friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our meals. My wife and her friend selected from the list of appetizers and entrees while I had the three course set piece meal. We were all impressed and will go back either for dinner or lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank YukonStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

WE have been visiting Nanaimo for the last month. We have dined at many of the area establishments. While looking for a place for our last supper here, Trip Advisor showed Westwood as number five. Made our reservation and plugged the address into the GPS and off we went. What a nice secluded location over looking the lake. My wife ordered two appetizers: The roulade of Okanagan goat cheese & zucchini (will try this dish when we get home) The goat cheese was very creamy and the zucchani added a nice crunch. The second appetizer was a local smoked albacore tuna. This was smoked just right. These two dishes were just the right amount of food for her. I ordered the green peppercorn crusted strip loin of beef with a basil pesto. The beef came medium rare, just as I ordered it. There was a medly of veggies to go along with the beef. Our table overlooked the lake and we watched a couple of boaters fishing.
I am an avid tennis player and there are courts next to the restaurant so I peeked at the match being played (no noise inside from the courts). What a delightful evening. Wish we had found the place earlier in our stay. Might go back for lunch today if we get the chance. Great place to enjoy the forest and only about 12 minutes from downtown. Enjoy!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Bonjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I have been going to the Bistro since it opened to the public in spring 2011.
Whether it's a casual lunch or a romantic dinner, it's always wonderful and we recommend it to others at every opportunity. It's also the kind of 'quality' dining experience where someone can enjoy a solo lunch or dinner. The menu is superb, innovative and changes seasonally. Service is friendly, knowledgeable, professional and timely. Gaetan, the owner and host, is definitely 'hands on' and it's obvious he takes great pride in this culinary jewel. Food preparation and presentation is exceptional. The setting is lovely and serene, overlooking Westwood Lake and forest either from the casual outdoor patio or the comfortably elegant dining room. We love it, and have never been disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro at Westwood Lake also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing