We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Pho!”
Review of Pho Boi

Pho Boi
Ranked #150 of 320 Restaurants in Nanaimo
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Nanaimo
2 reviews
“The Best Pho!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love Pho and try it wherever I travel and Nanaimo has the best Pho going at Pho Boi.
Hot and sour seafood is amazing, especially on a cold and wet day.
Find the rest of the menu a little boring, but if Pho is your thing, you will have a new favorite place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Trail, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Just what I was looking for”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

When I moved here I missed the great little Asain place we have in the big city. The first one I found was awful, the next was ok, but it took two years to find out that the pho dung downtown and this place were Nanaimo's best Pho places. I hope it gets busier, this town is full of little old ladies who only beef at pubs, so it is still a bit of secret. Prices are good and the food is authentic. Best value for money in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Globehopperdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good noodles.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for a quick lunch before Costco.
Excellent service, food came quickly and was great and lots of it. It was nice to be greeted with a pot of tea. Good choice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rieley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A complete turnaround”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Pho Boi was always my choice for really good casual Vietnamese food in Nanaimo. Then in the second half of 2011 it started to go noticeably downhill. The quality of the food and the service were not the same any longer, by a long shot. I left a mildly negative review on Tripadvisor in January 2012, but was frankly being kind with my comments. I tried Pho Boi once more in February, but sadly there was no change. I then started avoiding the place altogether. Didn't go back for months. But last Saturday evening my wife suggested that we try it again to see if things had improved. Wow.. have they ever!

The food was greatly improved and so was the service. My B3 (grilled pork & fried roll) was excellent. My wife's C3 (grilled chicken fillet & fried roll) was also great as well. Service was very attentive and fast. After our meal, I asked our waiter if there had been recent personnel changes. He admitted that the entire kitchen staff had been replaced, and most waitstaff were new as well. Thank you Pho Boi owner for getting things back to what they once were. I am now a frequent customer again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank room_surveyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great soups”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Not much atmosphere, but food is good if you know what to order.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank islandholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pho Boi also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Pho Boi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing