We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Newcastle Island

Newcastle Island
Ranked #4 of 73 things to do in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Newcastle Island is a big park, accessible by boat from Downtown Nanaimo. Bring a picnic lunch and plan to spend the day. Check local media for events on Newcastle Island. Theres a big dance hall type building.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    73
    11
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gabriola Island
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun historical site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We don't get to Newcastle that often, but when we do we always enjoy it and we always recommend it to your b&b guests. We first went there 15 years ago with our kids on a school trip! It was fun then and it's still fun now.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank hummingbirdlodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Level Contributor
164 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to spend an afternoon”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

A cute little short ferry ride takes you to Newcastle island where you can spend the afternoon exploring its wooded trails.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanisle_al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Racoon city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Went there on an overnight cycling trip with a group of 10 year olds. Safe , clean and there's a large grassy park space for games. Nice trails that can be cycles or hikes around the island. Look out for the very intelligent and spoiled racoons who can clean out your food cache if left unguarded.

Helpful?
1 Thank nsvancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level Contributor
317 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“A little thin on activity”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's an interesting little island, with a fun boat-ride to get there and great receiving area. After that however there isn't much to do.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newcastle Island also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Newcastle Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing