We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant, Perfect, Relaxing, Accomodating”
other travelers have booked this property
View of the Channel and Coastal Mountains from the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the Channel and Coastal Mountains from the property
Ever Changing Scenary - Sunrise Spectacular fog
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
View of the Channel and Coastal Mountains from the property
Ever Changing Scenary - Sunrise
Spectacular fog
Panoramic view of Departure Bay
The ferry is arriving
View of entire house
Well landscaped yard
Furnished porch
Relaxing in the Porch
Outdoor dining and grilling
View of Channel
Great Rm 02 Leather Couch
Great Rm 02 Sectional Leather Couch and Futon
Great Rm 05 Futon for extra sleeping unit for 2
Great Rm 06 Digital Piano, for use by trained musician
Great Rm 07 Adjoining Dining Area
Kitchen-Dining 01
Kitchen-Dining 02
Kitchen-DIning 03
Kitchen-Dining 04
Kitchen-Dining 05
Kitchen-Dining 06
Master BR
Master BR, adjoining ensuite bath
Ensuite Bath 01
Ensuite bath 02 - separate door to enter
Second BR
Washer-Dryer
Second Bath, with shower
Third BR
Walkway to suite
Front door of suite
Driveway for parking
Mid floor suite layout
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island, British Columbia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
OrdinaryJ...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Brilliant, Perfect, Relaxing, Accomodating”
Reviewed November 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My family spent approximately two weeks in Nanaimo this past summer in a spacious, beautifully renovated/maintained home. Peter and Irene were our hosts from upstairs.

First, the place was beautiful: polished hardwood floors, big windows with ocean views, the largest covered deck anywhere with lighting and ocean view, spacious and quiet bedrooms far from the living room and kitchen area, easy parking, all required amenities including laundry, WiFi, dishwasher, etc....

The home is also only a one minute bike ride from the bike path that traverses through the town. Many a day, our family spent on the path to exercise and get to downtown where we would play football and crab fish with the locals.

This suite is a MUST buy! You will love it.

Second, the service: Peter and Irene were the most gracious and accommodating hosts possible. We enjoyed being so well received and how open they are to meeting new people.

If you are considering renting this suite, then just rent it while it's still available. You will adore the place!

To Irene and Peter, thank you for being such wonderful hosts and providing a beautiful place for our family to stay. Our trip was perfect.

Matt & Rachelle

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roam70310...
1 review
“Lovely house with a beautiful view”
Reviewed September 2, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This house was in a great location. Close to many amenities. We were visiting family and they were very close by,. We could even walk to their homes, walk to the water front, walk to the grocery store, pharmacy, liquor store. The house was clean and the beds were awesome, which is so important, especially when you are traveling. We were not aware that the owners lived on the top floor until we arrived. The slide show showed the back yard but we were not allowed to use it because we were staying on the main floor, not the lower llevel, which we were not aware of as well until we arrived. There was also no oven. The owners brought us up a small, portable one which worked out okay...we had a great holiday

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 4, 2017
We thank our guests for their generous review, and we are most pleased that they had a wonderful stay in our spacious suite. We would like to comment on a couple of issues which our guests have identified.

We are aware that baking for a large party is a challenge, even though this is not normally expected in a vacation rental facility. The countertop oven supplied by us is actually by no means small: it is an extra large convection oven that offers two racks for concurrent cooking of two 9 x 12 inch casseroles, or two bake tins each holding 12 cup cakes.

Our house has three stories (as shown in our photo gallery). This suite is situated on the second level. It is obvious that the upper floor would be occupied by someone if not by the owners. Our goal is to provide ample outdoor space for occupants of all the floors so that they do not have to intrude into the space of others. The second level suite has an exclusive covered porch of 500 sq. ft. and is equipped with dining table, lounge area, a bistro set and a BBQ, and offering a fabulous view of Departure Bay. Most occupants find this more than sufficient, and do not seek out other outdoor spaces such as the yard which abuts the driveway and the front entrance of our ground floor suite. We therefore requested our guests not to play lawn bowls in the yard.

Our guests’ comments nevertheless are very useful as they prompt us to be more thorough when we brief our guests during the check in and not just rely on the information sheet that we provide to them. Hopefully, through common sense, civility and our availability to answer questions, all other issues can be easily resolved.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D
1 review
“Beautiful Space with Great View, but Uncomfortable”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The unit was exactly as shown in the pictures. It is spacious and well appointed. We enjoyed the views from the windows and the large deck. The kitchen is small with very little space to prep your food and put things, but it was well stocked with lots of pots, pans, utensils, dishes, etc. Our biggest complaint was that we were asked to not open the windows because the entire house (bottom rental, middle rental and top floor where the owners live) is controlled by the same air conditioning. We closed every single vent in the unit so that we didn't freeze, but it was stuffy. We really appreciate being able to open windows to let in the breeze and hear the sounds from outside, so this was a big downside to us. Additionally, the beds and couch were uncomfortable to sit/lay on. Peter is a very friendly host and very much wants to be a part of your stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
We appreciate our guest’s review which largely reflects the state of our accommodation. We would respond to two concerns which she has identified.
First, our living room couch is indeed somewhat on the firm side, and for good reasons. Over the years, we have found that most of our guests, especially among seniors, actually prefer more support to their back, and they tend to speak positively on the couch. The same can be said about the beds. We have chosen our memory foam mattresses to offer firmer back support, which also avoid the discomfort from the body heat generated by some softer memory foam. We would probably be able to provide some solution such as using a few more cushions to the couch, and adding a soft mattress pad to the bed.
Second, with respect to air-conditioning, our heat pump actually serves only the upper and middle floors; the ground floor suite has a separate system. Our heat pump is regularly serviced, and we have always set the temperature at 24 degree C. Air-conditioning for a house has often generated stories of dissatisfaction as it is not yet “fool proof”. The usual complaint is insufficient air-con in certain areas. Therefore, in general, we would encourage guests to close windows and doors to keep the cool air in. If the suite is too cold, the normal solution is either reduce air-con by closing the vents partially, or use a duvet at night. We appreciate that our guest has a baby and the solution may not be as straight forward. However, we are not rigid. We would indeed be unreasonable to disallow our guest from opening the windows had she told us during her stay of her intention to close all the vents entirely (which would practically stop having air-con in the suite). Our goal is to provide air-con for comfort, not to create stress due to lack of air circulation. It appears that such common sense problems could have been easily addressed.
Nevertheless, we greatly appreciate our guest’s generosity in assigning a high score to our suite despite the discomfort she experienced. We are also thankful for her concerns as they remind us that as hosts, we need to be more proactive in advising our future guests what to expect, and what would be the solutions if they run into similar issues.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
53blackwo...
Onanole, Canada
1 review
“Lovely roomy suite with very large balcony and ocean view.”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The location is on Departure Bay so you can watch the ferries, sailboats and float planes leaving and coming in. Very large roomy suite which will accommodate three couple or a family. Has a very large balcony with a great view. Convenient location with grocery store within walking distance. Nice having two bathrooms. Peter and Irene are very welcoming yet allow you your privacy. Enjoyed our conversations with Peter very much. Peter is very knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. Will definitely return if our accommodations require a large suite!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
804allan
Thunder Bay, Canada
1 review
“Location location location”
Reviewed August 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We loved our stay in Nanaimo. The location of this rental is perfect...easy to get to and central to everything. Lots of space, clean, great neighbourhood, and BEAUTIFUL view of the harbour. Hosts were friendly and helpful. Good value as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen068
Pitt Meadows BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Big spacious condo with great view”
Reviewed June 16, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Shopping is close by and a central location in Nanaimo. This is a great condo for 6 people with a large deck to enjoy the ocean view. The condo has everything you need to make your stay comfortable. Peter and Irene are great hosts. We will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janice M
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Hosts, Beautiful view,”
Reviewed May 4, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

All the boxes were ticked for me in this accommodation. Close to the hospital where I visited my Uncle twice a day every day, Lots of room for friends and family to drop in for a visit and sleep over. The view is so beautiful and calming in my rather hectic life. Our hosts were very kind and understanding with the coming and goings of all my guests. Thank you Peter and Irene. Till we meet again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing