We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service.”

Nanaimo Dive Outfitters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Nanaimo Dive Outfitters and Shepherd Charters provide scuba diving and snorkeling lessons, tours, charters, sales and service to people from all over the world. Dive and stay packages are available. BC has the best cold water diving in the world with unique sealife. Nanaimo offers some of the best shore access as well as boat trips. NDO can provide equipment and a guide to help you enjoy whatever underwater experience you desire. From shore snorkel trips and scuba diving to boat charters to go snorkeling with the seals or scuba diving, there is something for everyone. The Shepherd is our 33ft aluminum dive boat that can take you to some great dive spots including walls, reefs, and artificial reefs or wrecks. She has a large covered deck, storage space below the benches and over head nets for dry storage, an awesome dive ladder, and a marine head.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Been part of the Dive Outfitters family for years now. Got my course through these guys. They helped when I had questions, great trips, great diving!!
Both Nanaimo and Edmonton shops are great!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ISWIMWITHFISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiveNanaimo, Owner at Nanaimo Dive Outfitters, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to us. It was a pleasure working with you both and it will be really great to see you back again. Then we can show you even more of what we have here. Enjoy Kauai!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“Three days of top class diving”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Dived with Dive Outfitters over three days in August 2013 and had a great dive experience,real professional guide and friendship with Shirley and her friends. Great shop and top quality gear to use as I was on holiday from UK. Recommend without hesitation and would go back if I was in the area again. Alf Yates

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alf2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Above and beyond”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We used Shirley and the team at Nanaimo Dive Outfitters for our second summer in a row. After 5 years of not diving due to the arrival of some small kids (to go along with 3 older kids/teens)--we decided to give it a go again during a vacation to Vancouver Island. The summer before last (2012), we rented a house just across from Tyee Cove for a week. Shirley was incredibly professional and patient with two adults who had not been diving in a long while and two teen boys who had just finished their certification dives weeks earlier. Her knowledge of local undersea plants and animals is fantastic--if it's there, she'll find it, point it out, and explain it all between dives! And, for those who don't know--brave the cold water, there's a lot to see under Vancouver Island waters. We came back this past summer (2013) with a less convenient location. Shirley picked a spot, worked out logistics, and helped us make it happen. This time we added 12 year old daughter diving for the first time after her certification (the youngest two spent the day picking blackberries on the shore!). Shirley brought out an additional dive master to help--just as polite and professional as she was. We knew nothing of the shop before we called two years ago, but now we'd not use anyone else. The service is above and beyond.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome dive shop and owners!”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Thanks again Shirley for the awesome instruction preparing my wife and I for our trip to Kauai. We loved your instruction style and your shop is first class!

Helpful?
1 Thank VitaminandDolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanaimo Dive Outfitters also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Nanaimo Dive Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing