We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Long Lake
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brandon, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Long Lake for two nites on sept.11 th12th. It was a lovely place to stay.Lovely room overlooking the lake.The breakfast was great .Enjoyed The walk around the lake in the morning.The staff was very friendly.We will be back when we are back in Nanaimo. BOB & JACKIE from Brandon M.B.

Room Tip: get a room on the east to view the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobandJackie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you Bob and Jackie. I am happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay at the Inn, and enjoyed the breakfast and the hotels expansive grounds. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Nanaimo.
By the way, don't worry too much about the view-all our rooms have a patio or balcony facing the lake. While many people develop a preference for one particular viewing angle, they are all pretty nice!
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    131
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
99
98
18
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

What a nice surprise. Had a bottom floor unit that was pet friendly and clean. The patio opened right on to the lawn leading to the lake. Nice and quiet - couldn't even hear the highway out front. The price was reasonable so we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blacktop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review! I am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We have a truly unique setup here. While we are close to the highway, the sliding glass doors in every room open onto a private patio or balcony that overlooks the lake. It is very peaceful and relaxing looking over the lake, and I know that I never tire of the view.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Inn on Long Lake for a couple of days for our children's canoe and kayak regatta which was taking place at the same lake. The inn is similar to a motel style of accommodation with the rooms accessible from the outside. The service was great and the front desk staff were polite and helpful with respect to finding restaurants and after-hours venues. They even pointed out a pub that had a large number of craft beers on tap which was appreciated. The views were beautiful, the rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. And a continental breakfast was available in the morning, which my children were very grateful to have. All of this was available at a pretty good daily rate. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you Sam E. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I know that we had several people at the Inn for the recent Regatta that the Canoe and Kayak Club held on the lake. I am certain that many of our other guests also enjoyed being able to sit on their balconies and watch the competition on the lake.
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at The Inn on Long Lake for a week in August. The view of Long Lake was great!! The location was also great. Nanaimo is a beautiful place to see and we can't wait to go back!! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in Nanaimo. It is a beautiful city, with some phenomenal parks such as Neck Point or Pipers Lagoon-both great places to enjoy the natural beauty of the coast. The boutiques and shops of the Old City Quarter are quite charming too. And with Nanaimo's central location, it is a good home base to explore other parts of the island if you ever tire of our City's charms. There are so many great attractions within a short ddrive-the murals of Chemainus, the "Goats On The Roof" at Coombs, Cathedral Grove old growth forest, as well as the beaches of Parksville and Qualicum are just a few examples.
We look forward to seeing you when you return!
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

A very beautifully located; comfortable; well-run motel. The rooms well appointed and furnished with every facility a traveller may need. Good & friendly service; excellent value. Generous buffet breakfast included. Recommend highly

Room Tip: Upstairs and south wing for better view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnytraveller777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking a few moments to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to make our Inn a comfortable and friendly place to stay. The fact that every room has a view over the lake is a very nice bonus though.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wash dc
Level Contributor
238 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We got right into the spirit of the lake by renting a pedal boat for an excursion. The staff was most helpful and courteous. The kitchenette was dated and small but overall the room size was adequate and had a great view of the lake. Beautiful gazebo fitness area and hot tub. Situated north of Nanaimo, it made it easier to do side trips further north to Cathedral Grove and Parksville.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lakefront view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank equinoxWashDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Inn. I am so glad that you got out in one of our boats. It is a special setting we have here on the shore of Long Lake, and I get a lot of satisfaction seeing our guests really enjoying the experience by getting out on, or for swimmers, in the lake.
We do have some updates for our rooms being planned, so please watch our website, or follow us on Twitter or Facebook to see how they look.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed in the Handicapped room with a client during august long weekend. After a long few days at another hotel in town, coming here was a welcome change. The room was set up very nicely for someone in a wheelchair, all the mirrors at her level, lots of space to navigate. The beach being right out your sliding glass door was a beautiful view. The staff were friendly and accommodating, the dogs had space to roam around and have fun. Overall Amazing experience and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieKarnage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. I am really pleased to hear that the room worked well for someone in a wheelchair, and that your stay overall was awesome. I hope that you will stay here again, when you return to Nanaimo!
We are looking at some possible upgrades to our Accessible Rooms to make them even more useful for guests with mobility challenges, which will hopefully make your next stay even better!
Thank you.
James Young
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Northgate Inn
6.1 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Long Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Long Lake

Property: The Inn on Long Lake
Address: 4700 Island Hwy N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
#3 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#3 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Long Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Lake front balcony or patio on every room. Beautiful view over Long Lake. All rooms also feature fridge/freezer, microwave, and Keurig coffeemaker. Continental Breakfast, parking, and free wi-fi included for all of our guests. Beautiful gazebo with large hot tub and sauna. Sit and enjoy the sunrise from your private balcony. Watch the wildlife, or the model sailboat club. Enjoy our Continental Breakfast with its house baked muffins and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, and a "make your own" waffle maker. Enjoy your breakfast on our lakeside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Inn on Long Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Long Lake Hotel Nanaimo
Hotel On Long Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing