We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Long Lake
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 28, 2013

great staff, very friendly, awesome base for exploring Vancouver island great sleep and good continental breakfast. right on the lake too. enter from the south the first time because it is a little tough to get in from the north the first time

Room Tip: second floor had a good view of the lake>
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StAlberttravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Wow! Thanks for the great review.
We should have better driving directions on our new website which is coming soon.

James Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 342 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a room for just one night and were very happy with the amenities, check in was a breeze and we settled in for a nice dip in the spa and finished up in the dry sauna. The size of the room was fantastic and all of the rooms have a nice view of the lake and the breakfast was delicious. We will definitely make a point of staying here on our next visit to Nanaimo.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It makes all of us feel great knowing that our efforts-from Housekeeping, to the Front Desk, to Maintenance, and even management-make a difference to your stay. We have a unique property, and we all believe it is very special. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Nanaimo.
James Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Room was clean and well organized. Bathroom was clean but the water pressure in the shower was a bit week (second floor?). Big, new LCD TV and lake view from the balcony compensated insufficient ventilation in the room. I guess, if conditioner is working (we did not try as we did not needed it), it might be enough to compensate a lack of Oxygen. Of course it always possible to live balcony door slightly opened to let fresh air come inside. This is the reason we actually gave this hotel only 4 stars!
Breakfast was OK, compare to the hotel brands like Best Western etc.
Very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Garry-Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am not quite sure if there was a problem with the air conditioning, or the bathroom fan when you were here. However, I think that you found the best solution-opening the patio door slightly so you have a constant flow of fresh air off of Long Lake.
We look forward to seeing you the next time that you make it up to Nanaimo.
Thank you,
James Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely hotel on the lake. We went in the middle of winter and loved it...it must be really something in summer! We had a fantastic water view room (they probably all are!) and even though it was a pet-friendly room, it was lovely. We were right next to the gorgeous little hot tub/workout gazebo which was a wonderful spot to unwind each day. The staff were all lovely with the exception of one woman at the desk who was REALLY frosty to us the whole visit. It was quite uncomfortable, and a bit mean, as we continually tried to "make friends" with her. Fortunately, everyone else was fantastic, both to us and our 70lb Shepherd! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to take a ground floor room (which you will need to with a pet). Our view was ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you liked our property. I do apologize that one of the staff was not as friendly as they should have been. We like to think of ourselves as a friendly little property, but we can still improve!
We aren't kidding when we say we are Pet Friendly-we love pets! We don't limit them to the ground floor, but we have found it is the most convenient setup for the pet and owners. And yes, the view is pretty good even on the ground floor. That is the advantage of our location, being right on the lakeshore. I hope you can come back in the summer, when everything is green and in bloom.
Thank you,
James Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our room was perfectly clean, bathroom fixtures updated and beds reasonably comfortable. Minor traffic noise was audible from the adjacent highway, but it did not really bother us. The grounds of the inn were lovely and there is a great view of the lake, probably from all of the rooms. The staff were quite friendly. I thought the breakfast was just average....not enough fruit or other choices. The breakfast room needs a reno: food counter crammed into one corner, making it rather crowded when everyone is trying to make their toast or waffles. Overall, it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: North end, top floor is probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddie4bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others.
You are absolutely right, all the rooms (even the meeting rooms) have a view of the lake! It is really a unique location, being right on the shore of such a wonderful and scenic lake.
Although it is bigger than the breakfast rooms at some similar sized properties I have seen, our breakfast room can indeed be a little crowded when the hotel is busy. We are looking into a permanent solution to the problem, but it is not an easy fix unfortunately. Thankfully, with the warmer weather, it does open our patio seating area up, so that you can enjoy the view, the fresh air, and breakfast all at once!
Thank you.
James Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I had a last minute change of plans and fortunately for me I managed to find a room at The Inn on Long Lake. Check-in was a breeze thanks to the pleasant young lady at the front desk. The room was very roomy as was the bathroom. It had all the amenities one could expect. I am not certain about the other wings but the wing I stayed in was more a motel than a hotel which I guess does not matter much. I left before breakfast began so I can't comment on that. All in all it is as probably as nice a place as you will find in Nanaimo.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a view of a very beautiful lake behind the Inn. The doors between the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frozen998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy the breakfast though. I think that between our fantastic staff, our spacious, comfy rooms, and our incredible view, that we are the best little hotel in town.
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Nanaimo.

James Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The room wasn't especially exciting, but wifi, flat screen, kitchenette and amazing view of lake a bonus. The hot tub and weight-room was a special luxury and just a short stroll from our room. Room service was more than helpful and continental breakfast, unforgettable. My daughter and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. What a treat not to mention, delicious Chinese was delivered in less than 25min. Loved it!

Room Tip: It was a real convenience to be on ground floor facing lake; Continental Breakfast to one side, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaShields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NanaimoManager, General Manager at The Inn on Long Lake, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be back. We pride ourselves on being clean, comfy, and friendly! I think we have a truly unique location, being close to everything-shopping, restaurants, movies, and transportation, yet being very peaceful and tranquil on our lakeshore. We will soon be putting our pedal boats and kayaks in the water for the summer too.
Thank you for taking a few moments to write this review.
James Young
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#2 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,542 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
6.2 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Long Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Long Lake

Address: 4700 Island Hwy N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9T 1W6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Nanaimo
#3 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $120 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Inn on Long Lake 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private Lake front balcony or patio on every room. Beautiful view over Long Lake. All rooms also feature fridge/freezer, microwave, and Keurig coffeemaker. Continental Breakfast, parking, and free wi-fi included for all of our guests. Beautiful gazebo with large hot tub and sauna. Sit and enjoy the sunrise from your private balcony. Watch the wildlife, or the model sailboat club. Enjoy our Continental Breakfast with its house baked muffins and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, and a "make your own" waffle maker. Enjoy your breakfast on our lakeside patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Inn on Long Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Long Lake Hotel Nanaimo
Hotel On Long Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing