We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    102
    149
    43
    31
See reviews for
129
101
44
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Fabulous location ... rooms great and pool so warm and relaxing. Front desk staff fantastic and lots of knowledge and suggestions

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Good Day Robyn
We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo.
The staff take great pride, and have passion for providing great service and clean and comfortable rooms.
Regards
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Good for having to put up a night or two by necessity. Just an average hotel near the town centre. Good for quiet walks making your way to the water and the park. Staff were helpful and friendly. Clean and convenient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
GThank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff take great pride in providing great service, location and value.
Our housekeeping team really strives to ensure cleanliness and comfort in our guest rooms. We try to make sure that the price is relative with the product we have to provide. Our downtown location is fantastic to see inner harbour and other attractions
Best kept secret seems to the outdoor pool.
Thank you very much for your observations and comments
Sincerely,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
ood Day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We found it within walking distance of most things we wanted to do. The room was clean, as was the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Chandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Hello
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel Nanaimo. The staff take great pride in providing great service, location and value.
Our housekeeping team really strives to ensure cleanliness and comfort in our guest rooms. We try to make sure that the price is relative with the product we have to provide. Our downtown location is fantastic to see inner harbour and other attractions
Best kept secret seems to the outdoor pool.
Thank you very much for your observations and comments
Sincerely,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE Washington State
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This property is in a less-than-ideal location. "Harbourside" is a euphemism for a location next to a liquor store and with a parking lot that, as witnessed by signs and one incident that occurred in my first few minutes there, has issues. It is also difficult to access as the entrance is not off Terminal Avenue. The motel is old and dowdy, though the room was passable in terms of amenities and cleanliness, though the A/C struggled on a hot day. Pluses include easy access to great walks along the harbor, which begin at the lower end of the parking lot and a free pass to a full health club just around the corner.

Room Tip: Third floor is quieter, though not accessible via an elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Double0Seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Good day
Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.
We are located across the street from the inner harbour and have clean and comfortable rooms.
Yes our street access is a litle challenging due to the hill on our property.

Thank you again for posting on Trip Advisor
Regards
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,347 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing