We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this a pass”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Kamloops, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Give this a pass”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Howard Johnson in Nanaimo is old and needs extensive refurbishing - just tired would be the best description.
For $80.00 plus the room was OK but decidedly dated. No continental breakfast - something most hotels are offering now and we made the mistake of thinking it was included - our fault - however the price of breakfast in the private restaurant attached was good but made our stay over $100 - with few other conveniences and the definite age of the place not worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenRobertson1868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Good Day Bandit,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay.
We do have several views available from our guest rooms, one view is our side parking lot and view of local businesses and the other view is of the outdoor pool, courtyard and Millstone River.

Yes we are an older hotel, but we take pride in providing clean and comfortable rooms. I will forward your comments about the furnishings to the owner of the property.
Thank you again.
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    105
    151
    44
    31
See reviews for
131
103
45
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

So it was with great excitement that I booked in for a night at the Howard Johnson in Nanaimo. The room was clean-ish, the view was nice (if you like looking at car parks and Tim Hortons) and the hotel was very modern (if you were born in the 1800's). Cant really complain about the price though and the front desk staff were friendly and efficient.

If I am staying in Nanaimo and on a budget, it would be a tough call between staying at the Howard Johnson and sleeping in the car.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bandit_Vancovuer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Good Day Bandit
thank you very much for your comments. We truly appreciate customer feedback so that we can better enhance future guest stays. I will forward some of your comments to the owners.

Thank you again
Sincerely

Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

British Columbia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Pros- All the hotel staff were very helpful very impressed breakfast was good bed was comfortable room was quiet towels looked and smelled clean.location good close to everything.
Cons- room carpet was dirty black hair all over in bathroom floor was dirty keep your shoes on. Very limited TV channels. This hotel needs a major Reno should closed until this is done

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Good Day Sharron,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor about your recent stay at the Howard Johnson Harbourside Hotel. I was saddened to hear about the cleanliness issues you mentioned. The housekeeping team takes great pride in providing exceptionally clean guest rooms, as yes we are an older hotel - but we are very consistent in providing outstanding cleanliness standards. I have personally spoken to the housekeeping team about your comments. This is not indicative of the service or attention to detail housekeeping is known for and we sincerely wish to apologize for finding the hairs.
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Nothing fancy, just what you'd expect for a downtown budget hotel.

Downtown location and shares front parking lot with the liquor store so I was a little leery of leaving my car there, but nothing bad happened.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JLB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Good Day
We are so pleased that you took the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. The hotel staff take great steps to provide excellent service and clean and comfortable rooms. With our great location and value we cannot be beat.
The hotel does have security in the evening to monitor the facility including guest parking. The hotel also had very good video surveillance as well to protect the property and hotel guests assets.

Thank you again
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
1,377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing