We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    107
    152
    46
    32
See reviews for
134
105
45
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was a huge disappointment and certainly NOT up to the standards one expects from a Howard Johnson's. The building was over 90 years old and in the worst part of town and smelled strange. Of course, none of this was revealed on line. In fact the pictures looked great. Rarely have I felt so misleaded. The only good thing to say about this hotel was that the service was very good and what would be expected from a Howard Johnson.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Doretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Good Day Doretta,
We greatly appreciate comments posted online about the guest's experience at the hotel.
Yes the hotel is an older property - but only 50 years of age. With our river and ocean front location we do get the low tide odour and also the smell fromt the plywood mill down the road.
Unfortunately we cannot control the air quality in the area. However we do take pride in the cleanliness of the hotel, and guest rooms especially. Our housekeeping team is fantastic and really go care about making sure the room is clean and tidy for each guests arrival at the hotel.
The pictures of the hotel rooms and surroundings are less than 5 years of age. We do not wish to mislead anyone with doctored or false pictures. Thank you for mentioning the staff providing excellent service. I have forwarded your comments to our owner as well.
Thank you again for taking the time to post your honest and sincere comments about your stay.
Sincerely,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thank you for having the Westshore lacrosse team last weekend. We loved the hotel and the poolside rooms. Your staff was very friendly and provided us with everything we needed. My only complaint was the "elephant walker" in the room above us...not much you can do about that except tear out the carpet and put down pillows. back on point, parents and kids all enjoyed themselves. Oh and you need new HD TV's with HD channels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Al R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Good Day Al,
We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and were able to enjoy the pool. I am sorry about the heavy walker that stayed above your room. Thank you very much for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor - hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel room was intended to be used for a quick overnight stay in Nanaimo while I was visiting friends. When I checked into my room I was shocked to find that the bathroom sink and floor were overflowing with sewage. Something that was really no fault of the hotel I admit I was shocked by the service recovery by the front desk agent.

When I mentioned what had happened he simply said "well there is nothing I can do about it". I asked if there was another room available at a discount as now my shoes and bag were covered in the actual sewage and I was feeing pretty terrible about the whole thing. He rudely stated" we don't give no discounts here for anything and unless you unpacked your bag and this happening while you were already in the room then maybe!"

Ok...feeling very upset and like I was bound to go to another room that wasn't clean that is exactly what I found. Hair in the bathroom, serious dust and just a very unappealing room. It was well after hours and I had no choice but to stay at this hotel. As I am away of the franchises standards and have stayed at many Howard Johnsons that were immaculate my expectations were not close to being met.

I was pleasantly surprised upon check that my room was discounted . No one communicated this to me so it was really a missed opportunity to recovery the situation.

Service trumps all! You can recovery any situation with a guest with a friendly smile and a little empathy. I would highly recommend that management takes a look at the level of service and housekeeping standards they are currently delivering and improve in these areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Good Day Exploretourandtravel:
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent experience at the Howard Johnson Nanaimo. I wish to personally apologize for the poor service and lack of cleanliness you experienced at the hotel. I would be mad, frustrated and just plain angry if I had experienced that intorable level customer care at any business or hotel. I have spoken with housekeeping about ensuring that room cleanliness standards are being met and exceeding guest expectations. The lack of care and attention to the detail is not typical of the housekeeping team at the hotel, as they really do care and take pride in doing an excellent job.
I am so very sorry that the front desk clerk working that evening was not empathic or caring and showed little regard to the seriousness of the sink overflowing with soiled water in the guest room. This total lack of professionalism and indifference concerning basic customer skills is not the service image we wish to promote or condone. I have personally spoken with the staff member and he has and will be receiving more customer service and complaint handling training.
We learn from our mistakes, and we do appreciate frank and direct feedback from guests about their stay at the hotel. We are in the business of providing great service, great value and a great stay. We do hope to see you again so we can prove to you that we do truly care.
Sincerely,
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 18 in Nanaimo
1,420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
299 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing