We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An hotel past its use-by-date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An hotel past its use-by-date”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Once, this must have been a nice hotel - maybe 25 years ago! Now it is a faded shadow of itself. The location is good: at the northern edge of downtown Nanaimo, handy to "Old Town". Next door is the inter-city bus terminal (which has both good and bad points).

There is only a small outdoor pool, no room service, no restaurant (Tim Horton's across the street), no bar and, really, nothing to do except go to your room!

The room itself was of medium size, with a queen size bed, small table, and a large dresser. The bed was of good quality, the TV an older CRT type (32 inches) with a very limited choice of cable channels from which to choose.

I was there for 2 nights, a Wed and Thurs. The hotel was probably less than half full, but apparently it fills up on weekends.

If you are looking for a budget hotel, this fits the bill, but there is a total absense of any luxury.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so avoid second storey rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie_in_melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Good Day Robbie,
Thank you very much for your frank comments about your recent stay. We are working very hard to secure a new tennant for the retaurant to enhance guest services. We can only learn from what our guests are saying about the hotel and are working to improve the quality and service for each guest.
Thank you again for your comments
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    101
    146
    42
    30
See reviews for
127
99
43
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YAKIMA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Breakfast at the Motel would change my mind about staying there again. L>ocstion very poor. entrance from road not good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Day,
I am sorry that the breakfast room was closed during your stay and that the alternative was equally poor. With our location downtown, the driveway can be a challenge during high traffic times during the day. I am sorry that you did not have a positive experience at our hotel.
I you are not happy we are not happy.
Sincerely
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I called and made a reservation with Aaron - very personable and gave excellent customer service. I was busy at work...so appreciated it.
When I checked in - Janet was working the Front Desk - she also gave excellent customer service.
They are two of your best employees...they are a credit to the Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erik B, Manager of Operations at Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Good Day - I am so happy that you found the front desk staff you help and courteous.
I will pass your great comments to Janet and Erin.
Thank you again
We look forward to your next visit to Nanaimo
Erik Brook
Manager of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

At a lower price point I would give it a higher rating...
Dislikes:
-Heater stunk like burnt hair.
-Poor condition room, cheezy repairs, old everything, etc...
-Zero insulation, you can here a pin drop two rooms away and everything outside.
-If you like firm (rock) beds they have them...
-I don't think its in a good part of town- seems kind of seedy for me.
-The road in is kind of weird
Likes:
It was clean, this is the only thing keeping me from rating it lower.

I won't return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rupzuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nanaimo hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
0.4 mi away
Coast Bastion Hotel
Coast Bastion Hotel
#1 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#2 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN  Dorchester Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside

Property: Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside
Address: 1 Terminal Ave N, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 5R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel - Nanaimo Harbourside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Nanaimo
Nanaimo Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing