We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit to learn about Nanaimo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nanaimo Museum

Nanaimo Museum
Ranked #8 of 75 things to do in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nanaimo Museum: Discover Nanaimo’s fascinating history in our new museum located in the VI Conference Centre. The main gallery offers a sense of what life was like for Nanaimo's earliest settlers and the Snuneymuxw First Nation. Our award winning replica coal mine is a special treat. The museum also manages the Bastion, an original Hudson's Bay Company post built in 1853. Don’t miss the gift shop!Museum Hours: 10am - 5pm Monday to SaturdaySummer Hours: Open Daily 10am - 5pm
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Worth a visit to learn about Nanaimo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Interesting display about immigration to the area and the experiences that people had - both good and bad. I like their approach to this issue; gives people a real perspective on what it's like to be an immigrant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank EKRICHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieNanaimo, Public Relations Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, November 5, 2014
Thank you for your review! Our summer feature exhibit was called Canada: Day 1 and it was travelling from the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21 all the way from Halifax. We're glad you enjoyed it - we partnered with the Central Vancouver Island Multicultural Society to bring it here and it was great to see all the participation and discussion that arose from the exhibit.

We change our feature gallery every three to four months, so hopefully we will see you again soon for our next exhibit Ring of Fire: Canadians in the Pacific in WW2!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice museum.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Two months ago I was at the Vancouver Island Conference Centre. I was able to poke my nose into the museum then, but wasn't fully able to explore it. What I saw intrigued me, so I vowed to come back. I'm glad I did! The museum is very well set up, with some very engaging exhibits about the local history of the area. There was a travelling exhibit from the Canadian Museum of Immigration, but I thought it was rather dull compared to the local exhibits. My favourite part of the museum was the coal mine, which seemed quite realistic. I would definitely come back to this museum.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank somegalfromcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieNanaimo, Communications Coordinator at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Thank you for your review. We're glad you came back to check out the museum when you had more time to explore. The coal mine is one of our favourite parts as well! Our feature gallery has new exhibits every three months, so come back and visit us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Small fee, informative, suited more for younger kids or historical buffs lol the replica of mine was kool

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sim1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieNanaimo, Public Relations Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Sim1122,

Thanks for taking the time to review us. The coal mine is definitely a favourite around here! Let us know how we could improve your experience - what would make it appeal more to people of your age-group & interest level?

We'd love for your to come back to check out the three or four different feature exhibits we have each year - lots of variety!

Cheers,
Becka MacDonald
Communications Coordinator
info@nanaimomuseum.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Museum Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

For the small fee of $2.00, we enjoyed our visit to this beautiful, informative little museum. It provides a visually appealing history of Nanaimo & is well worth a visit. Children will love it! And don't miss the gift shop filled with lovely local items.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank munchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieNanaimo, Public Relations Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello Munchy1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, and hope you will come back often as we have three or four new feature exhibits each year. We would love the opportunity to make this a 5 star experience for you!

Cheers,
The Nanaimo Museum Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun to take the grandchildren.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Displays are well done. Rates for membership very reasonable. Grandchildren love the mine replica and I let them listen to one the taped stories of the coal miners each time I go.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieNanaimo, Public Relations Manager at Nanaimo Museum, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Hi Marilyn,

Thank you for your review - we always love hearing about who is visiting the museum and what their favourite exhibits are. We do like to keep memberships and admission rates as low as possible, so that people like you can experience history and share it with their families. Plus you get a discount in the gift shop with your membership! On our end, memberships show community support which is beneficial to us in so many ways.

Thanks for visiting, and we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nanaimo Museum also viewed

Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 
Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Nanaimo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing