We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
moocow08
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
Reviewed May 25, 2009

the hotel was clean and the staff very friendly. we had a room on the 12th floor overlooking the harbor, so that was wonderful. it is your standard hotel, no charm but very roomy and nice

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moocow08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    744
    433
    120
    33
    17
See reviews for
235
453
66
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Road
Level Contributor
421 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Having stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years, I was pleasantly surprised by my most recent visit. My room had been recently renovated, and was strikingly contemporary, and very comfortable. Since this was already the best choice for accommodation in downtown Nanaimo, the improvement was appreciated.

Now if only they could encourage the fellow who was working at the front desk when I checked in to be at least polite, if not actually friendly.....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WandererOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

They have done a remarkable job of updating the rooms. The look is fresh, sleek contemporary without being cold or hard. I appreciated the eco-conscious touches like the large sized refillable toiletries (they do offer the little bottles for those who must) and the compact fluorescents. I know! I know! You're thinking "They cast such awful light" but the color they chose for the room and the shades make the light quite pleasant. Of course everywhere in Canada I have seen recycle bins next to the trashcans. BRAVO! Hope American hotels will follow suit.

The staff were very kind courteous and wonderfully helpful but don't expect the level of service of a four star hotel as in a valet or bell captain always out front 24/7 to hail cabs and help you unload. There is someone but you may have to have him called or the front desk staff will assist with luggage. That is a small concern for me so this is an excellent choice!

The hallways were a little dirty and there were a few things dinged and banged up. I think this is because they are in the process of remodeling still and hope they will touch things up when through. Also don't expect to sleep in on weekdays until remodel if over. At 7:30 am the drilling began upstair the floor above me!

If you have mobility issues, be advised that the parking is not in the hotel but down the block so you have to walk back and forth with you luggage or ask for bell service.

Restaurants and shopping are all with in easy walking distance and the rooms over look the harbor and mountains beyond. Stunning!

The restaurant looked very promising - contemporary West Coast cuisine and local British Columbia wines. Didn't try it. Would love to know what others thought.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimi_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This is my second time staying in Nanaimo. The first time was at the Best Western, across the street from the Coast Bastion Inn.

The CBI is located steps away from the water front with great views of the water, and surrounding mountains.

The hotel was under renovation during our stay, but it was very quiet in the evening.

I had the pleasure of staying in a newly renovated room. The rooms are now very modern and trendy. The bathroom looks like a picture out of a magazine.

There was a comfortable king size bed in my room, with a lounge looking out the sliding patio doors overlooking the water front, a chair, a work station and a nice flat screen TV.

My room had a fully stocked (cash) mini bar, fridge and coffee maker.

My only negative thought when I walked in my room was that it was small.

The hotel has underground parking, and a restaurant / bar. The bar is very modern and furnished with trendy furniture. The atmosphere in the bar was odd. The patrons I spoke with felt the same feeling… and as such left to find a more comfortable location.

When coming back to Nanaimo, I will defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blackriverexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed at Coast hotel just after it was redecorated. Did a good job with the rooms - nice bathrooms, bed and shower, wireless internet. Only complaint is not enough plugs (pet peeve).

The restaurant however, stole the show with an AMAZING breakfast bar. Early march we were greated with perfect strawberries, pineapple, melons and grapes - all exactly the right ripeness. Lovely mix-n-match museli too. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED - go for breakfast! For a more traditional breakfast, they had fresh sourdough toast and perfectly done eggs. Great job to the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tessatwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my girlfriend in August 2008 after a long day sight seeing in Victoria and whale watching. We didn't arrive at the hotel until 7.30-8.00PM but found the hotel very quickly and the car park makes life very easy. We had a double room on one of the upper floors with a partial harbour view which was absolutely stunning.

All the furniture in the room was reasonable modern and we had an excellent nights sleep in the comfy bed. All the bathroom fixtures and fittings were also reasonably modern and very clean.

We went for dinner at the restaurant immediate infront of the hotel on the waterfront and had some of the best mussels we have ever had. The next day we caught an early ferry from Departure Bay (only 5 mins drive) so didn't try breakfast in the hotel.

If we stayed in Nanaimo again we would definately stay in this hotel again!

  • Liked — Fabulous harbour views - modern and clean hotel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GingerTravellingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2009

The staff was attentive. Dana was helpful, kind and enthusiastic. Another staff member was attentive and caring also.

The rooms are clean and the location is great... minutes from the Ferry terminal.

The Hotel is being renovated. The old rooms are average and had no Microwaves.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Not bright enough
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_YVR_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
485 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#10 of 19 in Nanaimo
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing