We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST hotel in Naniamo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

From the moment you enter this beautiful property - you are greeted by warm friendly people that are genuine in their desire to exceed your expectations. We stay at the Bastion every time we are in Nanaimo and I have honestly never been disappointed. We asked for a room close to the elevator because my child is on crutches, and they were more than happy to accommodate. In fact, every time we entered the lobby, someone at the front (bellman or front desk) would ask how everything was and whether we needed anything. He even offered the use of a wheelchair if it made things easier. The rooms are very clean, and nicely appointed. Parking was very convenient and reasonably priced, unlike other downtown properties. Everything about this property is first rate!

Room Tip: All rooms are great at this hotel - but if you want a view - just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanK366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,541 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

My spouse stayed here on business twice during past month. He has suggested I send in a review of this property as he has been very happy with both his recent stays. He found the front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Room was great, just what you would expect from a Coast Hotel, clean, bright and good complimentary internet which is important when on business. It is great to be right on the harbour both for the view & the convenience if flying over on Harbour Air from Vancouver, just a walk up the pier to the hotel. If flying into the airport & have a rental car, there is also parking available at a very reasonable price. This is his preferred hotel when in Nanaimo. As the workshop was being held at the hotel, it was catered for a breakfast & lunch and was excellent both in service and service as was the food & service in the dining room for dinner.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbes150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel. It is always appreciated when one of our guests takes the time to let us, and their fellow Trip Advisor reviewers, know when we have met or exceeded expectations. We agree that our hotel is a great choice for meeting or conventions and that our team in the Catering Department consistently go above and beyond to deliver top quality Food & Beverage product and services. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We tried a newer boutique hotel in town, but had to leave because of a mix up in the reservations. Also the smallest hotel rooms I have ever seen.
The Coast hotel came to the rescue. Fantastic room with view of Harbour. Extremely clean hotel and the friendliest staff.
Dinner in the dining room was very good. Great service, food and wine list. Having a smaller wine list is sometimes better than restaurants that try to impress with overreaching lists.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank 154914Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We enjoyed our stay her, although House keeping needs to look at shower curtains and door frames. But other than that, we had a corner suite that looked over the harbour and was lovely. Very modern furniture, chaise lounge, kind of funky custom chair, computer area with office desk and chair, bar fridge and all accompianments. Small balcony but, enough to stand outside and breath the sea air. Restaurant was very good and ALL the Staff were kind, courteous, helpful with great senses of humour.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I have stayed at the Coast Bastion Hotel in Nanaimo several times over the past few years and it is consistently very good. The rooms are spacious and modern, the gym is small, but has adequate equipment, and the in-hotel dining has great decor. My room overlooked the harbour and provided a terrific view. You can walk here easily from the floatplane dock and walk easily to downtown shops/restaurants/cafes which are just a block away.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Coast Bastion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear LJP99,

Thank you for recently staying with us at the Coast Bastion Hotel.

We agree that the breath taking views of the harbour from our rooms are one of the reasons that make the Coast Bastion Hotel the hotel of choice when staying in Nanaimo. Our central location and close proximity to fabulous dining, shopping and nightlife make Nanaimo a fabulous vacation destination.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed at the Coast Bastion to attend a funeral and the room I got was wonderful. It had an awesome view of the water. The staff at the front desk were friendly and warm. I would definitely stay here again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny with an awesome view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
2  Thank deggie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were in Nanaimo for a weekend family get together and had Coast Reward Points so thought we'd stay on the water downtown at the Bastion. Well this isn't your regular Coast Hotel. Extensive renovations have elevated this property to the level that you would think you were staying at a 5 star hotel. The rooms are elegant and large, the bed was so comfortable, the staff is very attentive and aim to please and the dining and decorate is top notch. The hospitality we received made us want to come back to this particular Coast another time just to be pampered. Also a plug for the independent Spa on site-fabulous!
Thanks to all management and staff for a great visit!
Judy Calgary

Room Tip: 1407 had a little balcony with the best view of the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calgarymagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 18 in Nanaimo
342 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 18 in Nanaimo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#12 of 18 in Nanaimo
180 reviews
1.4 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 18 in Nanaimo
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range: $126 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing