We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Bastion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Nanaimo
Certificate of Excellence
Salmon Arm
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed on business for 3 nights in November and would say that the Bastion was pretty good on all fronts. The room was clean and comfortable although not special in any fashion. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. There was a pretty wild late night gathering of young persons that kept me awake one night but that can happen anywhere so not a reflection on the hotel. The location was very good and I was able to walk to a number of restaurants and pubs with ease. The gym was small but functional and you could accomplish everything you would need to. They rate this facility as 4 star but I would be more inclined to say 3.5. I ate at the restaurant one night and enjoed the ambience, the food and the staff. I did walk to"Old Town" and had a Greek meal at Asteras which was quite possible the finest restaurant meal I have had. Highly recommend this short walk up the hill to find it.
All in all a reasonable place to stay and I would stay again as the rest of Nanaimo has slim pickings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    441
    121
    34
    17
See reviews for
243
466
66
445
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo BC, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Coast Bastion Inn, offers a comfortable stay in the heart of Downtown Nanaimo. There is a great little lounge and restaurant serving delicious meals. The staff are very friendly and professional. I have also attended many events in their ballrooms and have always enjoyed the buffet meals and staff from the Catering staff. I would highly recommend staying at the Coast Bastion on your next stay in Nanaimo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Nice hotel, very friendly and very welcoming staff.
Nice large room, large bed, flat screen TV great views of the bay.

However the room was noisy at night, from the loud music coming from the bars in the street (though stopped at midnight?). In the morning we were woken by the sea planes, from around 7am.

I would have given this hotel 5 stars if the hotel had better sound proofing.

We had an end room so it had windows overlooking the back streets and a funny statue thingy. Given this area was full of natural light, it would have been nice to have a squishy sofa there.

We ate in the hotel 2 nights; the food was so good we went back again (we rarely do this!). We

Overall the Nanaimo residents were very friendly. We watched a Euros game in a pub frequented by locals, the waitress bought our drinks and said “tom paid for these “. We had spoken to a couple of the locals but hadn’t spoken to anyone called tom!

Nanaimo is a god base to do things from, though not much in the city. Head to Cowichen bay for an excellent Whale watching trip (in a fast zodiac) and/or a 3 hours personalised canoeing tour (2 of us and 1 guide).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazywaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

When staying in Nanaimo you can't go wrong with the Coast Bastion - it's a good hotel for Nanaimo. The rooms are decent enough and because it's downtown it's close to everything. That being said, it is a 3* hotel and nothing more. The gym is basic and a few things don't work. There is also no hot tub/pool so if you're looking for that don't look here or you will be disappointed. Despite that, the beds are comfortable and the rooms are clean and fairly freshly renovated. I recommend it... it's just not 5* worthy for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BC_Cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Bastion while attending a national conference. The experience was perfect, even though as a partially disabled guy I notmally have a few challenges with hotels. The bathroom facilities were the best I have seen, with perfectly placed, sturdy safety bars, a sink that handled my wheelchair peerfectly, and all the other things I needed. The room service was incredible -- appropriate price, nice variety, flawless quality (especially the Nanaimo Bar Cheesecake!) and quickly delivered -- and the physical facility seemed almost brand new and perfectly located overlooking the harbour. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful...and that alone would bring me back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Spacious, clean rooms, great staff and they were great with my 2 dogs. Fantastic view, just across the street was the beautiful sea walk. Hotel parking is a bit of an issue, it makes check in a bit challenging especially with kids or dogs. Other than that it was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thunder bay
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a family wedding there and all of our rooms faced the ocean. Gorgeous! Friendly, helpful staff. Comfortable, relaxing lobby area. Rooms were very clean and spacious. The banquet hall was very nice and the food was very good. The only probem we had was getting around as we had to travel to wedding site and back to reception at the hotel and the taxis were very expensive as everything is quite spread out in Nanimo itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbthunderbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nanaimo hotels
5.1 mi away
The Inn on Long Lake
The Inn on Long Lake
#3 of 19 in Nanaimo
321 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Nanaimo
Ramada Nanaimo
#5 of 19 in Nanaimo
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Dorchester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Northgate Inn
5.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
The Grand Hotel Nanaimo
#11 of 19 in Nanaimo
174 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn - Nanaimo
Days Inn - Nanaimo
#8 of 19 in Nanaimo
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Bastion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Bastion Hotel

Property: Coast Bastion Hotel
Address: 11 Bastion St, Nanaimo, British Columbia V9R 6E4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Nanaimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nanaimo
#1 Business Hotel in Nanaimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coast Bastion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of location and beautiful ocean views from one of the best downtown Nanaimo hotels. Located near the BC Ferries Terminal on Nanaimo's inner harbour, the Coast Bastion Hotel is steps away from the seawall walk-way, Swy-a-lana Lagoon park, specialty shops, superior dining and quaint cafes. Take in a contemporary west coast designed dining experience at Minnoz Restaurant & Lounge. Featuring the freshest local seafood and meats, pasta dishes, gourmet breakfast and tapas. For those in need of relaxation & rejuvenation Pure Spa and Studio 31 are located in the hotel and look forward to pampering you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coast Bastion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Bastion Hotel Nanaimo
Coast Bastion Nanaimo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing